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ARTICLE I: PREAMBLE

The County of St. Lawrence, hereinafter referred to as the "County" and Council 82 - Local
2390,  AFSCME, hereinafter referred to as the "Union" declare it to be their mutual policy that, in
order to promote harmonious labor relations between the County and its employees, the principle of
collective bargaining is to be employed pursuant to the New York State Public Employee's Fair
Employment Act and that no Article or Section in this contract is to be construed to be in any
violation of New York State or Federal Laws.

ARTICLE II: RECOGNITION

Section 1. The County recognizes Council 82 - Local 2390, AFSCME as the sole and exclusive
representative for all employees in the unit described in Article III for the purpose of collective
bargaining and grievances, as prescribed by law.

Section 2. The County shall deduct from the wages of employees and remit to Council 82 - Local
2390, AFSCME regular membership dues from those employees who have signed authorization
permitting such payroll deductions in a manner and form approved by the County and the Union.
Any changes in the amount of union dues to be deducted must be certified in writing to the County
from the Union.

Section 3. Employees who do not become members of the Union shall be required as a condition of
~ employment to pay the Union a service charge equal to the amount of union dues. The employer
shall make deductions of such fees and transmit to the Union in the same manner as union dues.

Section 4. Council 82 - Local 2390, AFSCME affirms that it does not assert the right to strike

against the County, to assist or participate in any such strike, or to impose an obligation upon its
members to conduct, assist, or participate in such a strike. ‘

ARTICLE III: COLLECTIVE BARGAINING UNIT

Section 1. The Bargaining unit as referred to in this Agreement shall exclude the following titles:

1. Sheriff 8. Secretary to the Sheriff
2. Under-Sheriff 9. Deputy Sheriff _
3. Boat Operator 10. Deputy Sheriff Sergeant
4. Snowmobile Operator 11. Detective
5. ATV Operator 12. Detective Sergeant
6. Court Attendant 13. Jail Administrator
7. Chief Civil Deputy 14. Assistant Jail Administrator

- Section 2. Any person hired part-time who either works 20 hours per week, or less, or who works' -
1,240 hours per year, or less, shall not be members of this bargaining unit and shall not be subject to
the terms and conditions of employment between St. Lawrence County and Council 82 Local
23 90




Section 3. The employer shall notify the Union President or designee within 10 days of the hiring
of new employees including addresses, activity, and employment status.

Section 4. The County agrees that international, council, or local representatives shall be allowed to
enter premises of the County with the approval of the Sheriff or his designee to discuss working
conditions with employees. Such requests shall be at least 24 hours in advance except in the case of
an emergency. Such representative shall not interfere with performance of assigned duties.

- Section 5. The employer agrees to furnish facilities for Union meetings.

Section 6. The County agrees to provide bulletin boards for the exclusive use by the Union and to
permit the Union to post notices on them. Two bulletin boards will be provided; one will be in the
jail and the other will be in the civil office.

Section 7. The County shall be responsible for the cost of printing copies of the contract for
distribution by the Union to present employees and any new employees hired.

Section 8. The County agrees that Union representatives shall be allowed reasonable time to
conduct grievance investigations and proceedings and to transmit communication and other Union
activities on County premises without loss of pay or loss of leave credits. The Union agrees to
submit to the County a current list of the officers who would be engaged in such activities and
agrees that such release time shall not interfere with the activities of the department. The County is
not obliged to recognize any union representatlve whose name does not appear on the most current
list provided to the County.

Section 9. The union president or his designee and 3 other employees designated by the president,
shall be granted release time without charge to leave credits or loss of pay to engage in negotiations
for a successor contract. The union shall notify the Sheriff 7 days in advance when possible or as
soon as possible of the need of such time and the names of the employees seeking the release time.

Section 10. Time Off With PaV

(a) One hundred sixty (160) hours of time off with pay shall be granted by the Sheriff or his
designee to appointed Association representatives to attend official Association functions. With no
limit to number of personnel at a time.

(b) Time off with pay shall be granted by the Sheriff or his designee to appointed Association
stewards and/or representatives to attend training up to a maximum of six (6) employee days per
year. If more days are needed, the union must obtain approval from the Sheriff or his designee.

Section 11. Written notification shall be presented to the Sheriff by the President of the Association
no later than two (2) weeks in advance of the date the leave is to commence. However, the Sheriff
or his designee may grant time off for official association functions with less than two weeks notice
if said time off does not interfere with the operations of the department.




Section 12. Labor-Management Program

(a) The County and the Union agree to establish a joint Labor-Management Committee for the
purpose of providing communication, discussion and resolvement of problems arising from the
interpretation and administration of said contract and other conditions or terms of employment.

(b) The Labor-Management Committee shall be composed of three (3) members appointed by the
Chairman of the St. Lawrence County Legislature. The Union President will appoint two (2)
members in addition to him/herself.

(c) Both the County and the Union will appoint a Chairman and meetings will be called by mutual
agreement of these Chairmen. The Sheriff or his designee shall grant time off to appointed members
without loss of pay or charge to leave credits. It is understood that Labor Management Meetings
may be attended by Council 82 - Local 2390 representatives.

ARTICLE 1V: RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES

The intent and purpose of this Article is to set forth the Rights and Responsibilities of the County as
well as the Rights and Responsibilities of the Union. Nothing contained herein shall deprive the
County and the Union of any protection and/or rights they have under this Agreement, the New
York State Civil Service Law or other applicable law.

A. RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE COUNTY:

Section 1. Nothing in this agreement shall be construed as delegating the authority conferred by law
on any elected official, department, office or agency head, or the Chief Executive Officer or in any
way to reduce or abridge such authority.

Section 2. The Rights and Responsibilities of the County include, but are not limited to the
following:

(a) To determine the standards of services to be offered by its offices, agencies and departments;
(b) To direct the employees of the County;

(c) To hire, promote, transfer, assign and retain employees and to suspend, demote, discharge or
take disciplinary action against employees;

(d) To relieve employees from duties because of lack of work, or for other legitirnate reasons;
(e) To determine the methods, means and personnel by which such operations are to be conducted,;

@ To maintain the efficiency of Government Operations entrusted to them.




Section 3. Rules and Regulations

The Sheriff may promulgate appropriate rules, regulations, policies and procedures. The Union
shall receive a copy of such rules, regulations, policies and procedures thirty (30) days prior to their
effective date. The Union shall have the right to discuss such rules, regulations, policies and
procedures before they become effective. No rule, regulation, policy and procedure shall take
precedence over any matter described in this Agreement. :

B. RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE UNION:

Section 1. Employees of the Sheriff's Department shall have the right to form, join and participate
in or refrain from joining or participating in the employee organization free from interference,
coercion, restraint, discrimination or reprisal.

Section 2. The Union has the right to represent all employees of the Sheriff's Department in the
negotiating unit on any matter concerning the terms and other conditions of employment within the
limits of this agreement. However, nothing in this agreement shall be construed as to preclude any
employee, regardless of Union membership, from bringing matters of personal concern directly to
the attention of the appropriate appointing authority.

Section 3. The Union has the right, either as a representative of any employee or as an observer, to
‘have at least one (1), but not more than two (2) individuals present at any grievance or appeal
‘hearing involving an employee who is determined to be in the negotiating unit.

Section 4. The Union will honestly and fairly represent any employee within the negotiating unit

concerning the terms of this agreement whether or not such employee is a member of said Union.

ARTICLE V: ADMINISTRATION OF SALARY PLAN

Section 1. Effective upon ratification of the contract, active employees will receive a one-time
lump sum payment of one-thousand ($1,000) dollars which will not be added to base salary.

(a) Effective January 1,2012 a zero (0%) percent wage increase.
- (b) Effective January 1, 2013 a zero (0%) percent wage increase.

(c) Effective July 5, 2014, the County and the union agree to establish a new ten (10) step
payroll scale (Appendix A) and employees will be placed on the most appropriate step
based on years of service in effect on July 5, 2014.

(d) Effective January 1, 2015, employees hired before July 1, 2014 and are not at step 10
will move to the next step in accordance Wlth Appendix A.

(¢) Effective January 1, 2016, the salary schedule will be increased by one and one-half
(1.5%) percent and employees hired before July 1, 2015 and not at step 10 will move to
the next step in accordance with Appendix A. :

(f) Effective January 1, 2017, the salary schedule Wﬂl be increased by two (2.0%) percent
~ and employees hired before July 1, 2016 and not at step 10 will move to the next step in
accordance with Appendix A.




Section 2. Full-time employees assigned to the "C" shift (3PM-11PM) and the "A" shift (11PM-
7AM), or portions thereof, shall receive a seventy-five cent ($.75) per hour differential. In no event
will differentials be paid for those hours worked which are simply extensions of the regular shift
assignments, i.e. "overtime."

When a cook works a shift that overlaps with “A” or “C” shift, they shall receive shift differential
for only the portion of the shift that they work.

Section 3.

(a) The County agrees to pay the Head Cook and Cooks the hourly rate paid Correctional Officers
during the time they are actually performing Correctional Officer's duties when female inmates are
incarcerated. Correctional Officer's pay to Head Cooks and Cooks will normally be allotted at the
rate of one Correctional Officer per eight hour shift; dependent upon the number of inmates and at
the discretion of the Sheriff. The hourly rate shall be computed by dividing the annual salary at the
proper step increment of the Correctional Officer's grade by 2,080 hours.

(b) The County agrees to pay any employee who works out of title the appropriate pay at the same
rate as outlined above. during the time they are performing duties out of title. (For example, a
correction officer working as a tour supervisor/sergeant would receive sergeant's pay.)

Section 4.

(a.) The County agrees to pay authorized overtime at a rate of time and a half (1 1/2) for all
permanent thirty-five (35) hour per week employees. Overtime pay will not commence until after
the employee has worked 40 hours per week. Excused absence shall count toward the 40 hours.

(b.) All other employees will be entitled to overtime compensation (at the rate set forth in Section 5
below) for all authorized "unscheduled" shift assignment work over and above their "scheduled"
shift assignment work during a bi-weekly pay penod Excused absences shall count toward their
scheduled shift assignment work.

Section 5.

(a) Authorized Overtime will be paid at one half (1 2 ) times the employees annual
salary (computed by dividing annual salary by 2,080 hours)

(b) Except for the following exceptions, employees who work overtime may select the option of
Compensatory time, in lieu of regular overtime, calculated at one and one half (1 %) times the
actual hours worked. '

Exceptlons:

e In-Service Training.

e Backfilling for employees who have utilized Compensatory Time accruals as their means of
time off. Unless the employee backfilling has been forced into the overtime situation (forced
overtime).

e Compensatory time may be used on a holiday provided minimum staffing requlrements
can be met and it does not create an overtime cost to the County.
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(c) Compensatory time off will be scheduled through the Sheriff, Jail Administrator, Assistant Jail
Administrator or their designee.

(d) Compensatory time off will be granted on a first come first served basis. The requests for
Compensatory time off must occur during a current bid cycle and will be granted to the first
person within the Correctional Officer/Correctional Sergeant ranks with at least twenty-four
(24) hours notice and to the second requestor with at least twenty-four (24) hours notice. Not
more than two Correctional Officer/Correctional Sergeant members will be granted
Compensatory time off on any given shift. The Sheriff may waive this limit if it does not
negatively impact the Correctional Facility operation (i.e. create overtime).

(e) The maximum amount of Compensatory time that can be taken by an individual member-of this
bargaining unit within a calendar year is one-hundred eight (108) hours. '

(f) Members of the bargaining unit may carry over up to forty (40) hours of Compensatory time
each year. Eight (8) of those hours may be converted to personal leave, if requested in writing
through the Sheriff, Jail Administrator, Assistant Jail Administrator or their designee. This
request may be granted as long as the maximum amount of personal leave, six (6) days or forty-
eight (48) hours, is not exceeded.

(2) Employees have the option of converting compensatory time to payment at the
appropriate rate of pay in the first pay period in July of each year. Employees will be
required to make notification to the Sheriff or his designee not later than June 15™,

(h) Any unused Compensatory time in excess of forty (40) hours not used by the last pay period of
December will be calculated as overtime and paid to the employee in the first full pay period in
January. Compensatory hours on the time and accrual sheets already include the one and one-
half (1 ¥2) times the number of hours actually worked.

Section 6. All part-time and extra help employees shall be paid on an hourly basis for the number
of hours actually worked. No advance payment shall be allowed for any hourly, part-time or extra
help employee. He/she must have. actually worked the number of hours set forth for the payroll
period.

Section 7. Employees called in, or required to work, while off duty shall receive pay, calculated at
~ their appropriate rate, for a minimum of four (4) hours. This "forced overtime" shall only adjust the
overtime rotation in the correctional facility if the employee was called in to work in the
correctional facility (i.e. court appearances would not adjust the overtime rotation).

Section 8. All Correctional Officers, which includes Sergeants and Correction Officers, may be
subject to work mandated overtime on occasion. In this event the following procedure shall be
followed:

(a) A listing of all Correctional Staff members, by job title, will be established.

(b) In the event that overtime becomes available, officers, by job title, will be called and asked if
they want the overtime. Officers who do not want to be on this listing shall submit their request
to the Warden to have their name removed. The officer requesting to have his name removed
from the overtime list must do so at least five (5) days prior to the posting of the bid period
schedule and this request would extend through the duration of the three (3) month bid period.

(c) If in the event that no off—dufy officer accepts the overtime, the overtiinc will be offered to
the preceding shift. If no officer accepts this overtime, then it shall be mandated to the least
senior officer and officer of same job title will be assigned to this overtime.




(d) In the event that a Correction Officer creates overtime and there is no Sergeant assigned to
the shift, the Sergeants may be called and asked if they want the overtime.

(e) This procedure shall also pertain to part-time officers who have worked more than 1,240
hours. 4

(f) Officers working mandated overtime shall not be required to work more than eight (8) hOUIS
per workweek. S

Correctional Facility policy shall be followed.

Section 9. Pre-Shift briefing: Effective July 5, 2014, correction employees are required to
report for work 15 minutes prior to the beginning of the shift and will be compensated at
the appropriate rate of pay. Compensation will only be made to employees who report for
the pre-shift briefing.

ARTICLE VI: WORK DAY AND WORK WEEK

Section 1. All employees in the Unit not working forty (40) hours at the present time shall work
thirty-five (35) hours per week.

Section 2. All other employees shall be scheduled a minimum of 160 hours of shift assignment
work every two (bi-weekly) pay periods, and shall work an average of 80 hours of scheduled shift
~assignment work each bi-weekly pay period. The normal workweek for all Civil Department
employees shall be Monday through Friday. :

Section 3. The normal work week for all clerical employees shall be Monday through Friday.
Section 4. The procedure for shift selection shall be as follows:

On March 1, June 1, September 1, and December 1 of each year, all shift assignments shall be
-posted. Employees shall submit requests for their shift assignment preference by the 10th of said
months. Employees shall be assigned to shifts of their preference in accordance with seniority.

Awards shall be made effective the payroll week nearest the twentieth (20th) of the month. For the
- purpose of this Article, seniority shall be in accordance with Article 15.3. Where special needs are
required, assignments may be made on a temporary basis without regard to seniority. The Union
shall be advised as to the reasons and the projected time for such assignments. The reassignment
for a 30 day period may be obtained through a voluntary swap. Should no voluntary swap be
obtained. Management may assign on a rotating inverse seniority basis from the shift affected by
the reassignment.

Section 5. The County will establish a rotating shift that shall allow officers to rotate to other
shifts during the scheduled periods of every three (3) months. This will consist of one (1) officer
per shift and shall be of volunteer nature. Officers electing to work a rotating shift shall indicate
so during the shift bidding period. Officers electing to work a rotating shift shall work one (1)
month on each shift during the three (3) month period. Officers who elect to work a rotating

~ . . shift shall be paid one dollar ($1.00) per hour differential pay on-all sh1fts assigned. If there are

no volunteers, this section shall not be applicable.




Section 6. All part-time officers who exceed 1,240 hours during the course of the year shall
receive the same benefits as full-time officers and be subject to the same terms and conditions as
defined in the contract.

INTENT: It is the intent of this section that once a part-time officer exceeds 1,240 hours that
they will receive the same privileges and benefits of a full-time officer and be scheduled a work
week as defined in contract. What this would include is shift selection by seniority on shifts that
are available to them. It is to be understood that these officers will not be substituted to replace
other officers on already defined shifts. This section would also include them in any mandatory
overtime situations. This would also include that any time accruals may be used during the
period from 1,240 hours to end of year that the officer may have accrued. However, the officer
may elect the cash value of any vacation time accrued which will be made payable in the first
payment in January of each year. All other terms and conditions would also apply to them.

ARTICLE VIT: HOLIDAYS

Section 1. All employees in the bargaining unit shall receive eleven (11) days off per year in lieu of
holidays. Any employee who is required to work on Christmas shall be paid two (2) times his or
her regular hourly rate. Any employee who is required to work on holidays other than Christmas is
to be paid one and one-half (1Y) times his/her regular rate. Any employee required to work
overtime on a holiday shall receive one and one-half (1'2) times his/her holiday rate. ‘

Section 2. None of these regulations, however, shall be construed as preventing the Board of .
Legislators from granting employees such additional days off with pay if it may be duly authorized.

Section 3. Holidays to be observed are as follows:
New Year’s Day Columbus Day
Presidents’ Day Veterans’ Day
Martin Luther King Day Thanksgiving Day
Memorial Day Day after Thanksgiving
Independence Day Christmas
Labor Day

Section 4. Clerical and Civil Deputies will observe theholiday as designated by the County
Personnel Office. All other employees will observe the traditional holiday.

ARTICLE VIII: VACATIONS

Section 1.

(a) Permanent forty (40) hour/week employees shall earn vacation in hours per payroll period in
accordance with the following schedule. To earn leave accruals, employees must have been in
payroll status for a full payroll period. Employees shall not accrue vacation credit during any period
of absence, which is compensable under the Workers' Compensation Law or Disability Benefits
Law.




After completion of one (1) full year of service, vacation time shall be credited to employees on the
anniversary date of their employment as per the following schedule:

1 through 5 yrs. completed service - 10 days annual vacation

6 through 10 yrs. completed service - 20 days annual vacation
11 through 19 yrs. completed service - 25 days annual vacation
20 or more yrs. completed service - 30 days annual vacation

No employee can accrue more than two (2) years vacation credit.

(b) All permanent thirty-five (35) hour/week employees shall earn vacation in hours per payroll
period in accordance with the following schedule. To earn leave accruals, employees must be in
payroll status for a full payroll period. Reinstated employees or employees returning from approved
leaves of absence must be in payroll status at least eight (8) of the work days in the pay period or at
least sixty (60) hours in the pay period in order to earn said accruals.

After completion of one (1) full year of service, vacation time shall be credited to employees on the
anniversary date of their employment as per the following schedule:

1 through 5 yrs. completed service - 10 days annual vacation

6 through 10 yrs. completed service - 20 days annual vacation -
11 through 19 yrs. completed service - 25 days annual vacation
20 or more yrs. completed service - 30 days annual vacation

No employee can accrue more than two (2) years vacation credit.

(c) Vacation time requested and approved by the Sheriff or his designee must be taken by the
employee unless permlssmn to cancel the approved vacation time is granted by the Sheriff or his
designee.

(d) Employees who leave Ceunty employment for any reason before their first anniversary, lose all
vacation accruals. They may not sell them back as outlined in Article VIII, Section 4.

Section 2. (Correctional Division) Request for 32 hours, or more, of vacation leave shall be
submitted to the Sheriff, or his designee, during the bidding period in which the vacation is
requested with seniority to be considered. Granting or denial of these vacation requests shall be
made with the posting of the quarterly shift schedule as defined in Article VI, Section 4. Block
vacations will not be denied for the sole reason of overlappmg blocks of two days or less.

(2) During the months of July and August, all employees shall not be allowed to take in excess of

three (3) consecutive weeks of ninety-six hours (96) or one hundred four (104) hours of vacation
leave depending on the work schedule.

(b) No other time off may be used in extending these allocations.

’(c) Every effort will be made to utilize part-time employees to cover Vacatlon hours when needed
at the discretion of the Sheriff or his designee.
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(d) Vacation time that was requested and approved Wﬂl not require any call backs to confirm time
off.

(e) Vacation time may be used in combination with personal time where there is insufficient
hours to cover an eight (8) hour shift request.

Section 3. No vacation allowance or pay shall be made to any employee until after completion of a
six (6) month probationary period. However, the accumulation of vacation allowance and/or pay
shall be retroactive to the date of original appointment and shall be credited to the employee on the
first (1st) day of the seventh (7th) month of employment. :

In the case of part-time correction officers who are appointed to a full-time position, the six-month
probation period is waived if he/she has worked more than 1,240 hours as a part-time Correction
Officer. Part-time Officers who have not worked a total of 1,240 hours and are hired full-time, shall
- have the amount of hours worked credited toward the probationary period.

Section 4. When upon resignation or termination the employee has accumulated unused vacation
time, not to exceed thirty (30) days, the employee may elect to receive the monetary value
computed at the employee's regular hourly rate of that accumulated unused vacation time. In case
of death, the Employer shall pay the monetary value of the deceased's accumulated unused vacation
time to the employee's beneficiary(ies) as designated on the employees St. Lawrence County Group
Life Insurance card.

Upon retirement an employee may elect to receive the monetary value computed at the employee's
regular hourly rate of that accumulated unused vacation time up to a maximum of two (2) years
vacation credit. At the option of the Sheriff or his designee, an employee selecting to retire may be
required to work up to his day of retirement (i.e. no vacation immediately before retirement).

Section 5.

(a) Permanent forty (40) hour per week employees may be paid the monetary value of half of the
total hours used under this section, not to exceed forty (40) hours if:

1. They take between 72 and 80 consecutive hours of vacation within a calendar year, OR
2. They take 2 écheduled vacation blocks that total between 72 and 80 hours.

(b) Permanent thirty- ﬁve (35) hour/week employees may be pa1d the monetary value of 5 days
Vacat1on by charging it against vacation accruals if:

1. They take 10 or more consecutive days of vacation time within a calendar year
(Holidays and Weekends do not count), OR

2. They take 2 periods of 5 consecutive days of vacation within a calendar year. The
periods must be Monday through Friday unless the employee has other than a regular
Monday through Friday work schedule in which case the periods must be his/her
normal workweek (holidays do not count).

11




(c) In all cases the vacation time must be requested in writing stating that options in this section
are being exercised. If the employee wishes to be paid in advance of the first vacation day this
request must be made 30 days prior to the first vacation day. Once an employee has selected
options under this section and has been paid, the vacation dates shall not be changed or canceled.

An eligible einployee may exercise this section only once each calendar year. Vacation time is
subject to approval by the Sheriff or his Designee as described elsewhere in this Article.

Vacation time utﬂlzed to earn the vacation buyback bonus may not 1nclude vacation time already »
taken. This section is effective on the date of contract signing.

ARTICLE IX: SICK LEAVE
Section 1.

(a) Sick leave shall be granted to an employee due to illness, bodily injury and exposure to
contagious diseases and attendance upon members of the immediate family whose illness requires
the care of said employee. Sick leave shall be granted to all employees for each relative living in
the household as follows: Husband, Wife, Son, Daughter, Father, Mother, Brother, Sister,
Grandparents or Domestic Partner. The above terms include natural, in-law, and step relationship.
Sick leave time for all employees working a thirty-five (35) hour work week shall be charged at the
rate of seven (7) hours for any sick day used. Sick leave time for all employees working a forty (40)
hour work week shall be charged at the rate of eight (8) hours per sick day used. No sick leave
charge can be less than one-half (Y2) hour. The decision to award time off in these time increments
shall rest with management in terms with the best management interests of the Sheriff's Department.

A Domestic Partner is define‘d as one in which the partners must be 18 years of age or older,
unmarried and not related by marriage or blood in a way that would bar marriage; reside
together; and are involved in a committed (lifetime) rather than a casual relationship and
mutually interdependent financially. The partners must be each other’s sole domestic partner
and must have been involved.in the domestic partnership for a period of not less than one
year. The County employee may not have a spouse covered under his or her St. Lawrence
County Insurance Plan enrollment and still be eligible to cover a domestic partner.

(b) All employees shall receive sick leave at the rate of two and one-half (2 }2) hours per payroll
period. After completing four (4) years of service, these employees will receive sick leave at
the rate of five (5) hours per payroll period.

(c) Such earnings may be accumulated up to a maximum of two thousand hours (2,000).
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Section 2. An employee on sick leave more than two (2) consecutive days, may at the discretion of -
the Sheriff or his designee, be required to furnish proof of illness or disability for himself or for
members of his immediate family whose illness may require his attendance. Failure to provide such
proof of illness as required, or unsatisfactory evidence of illness or evidence indicating that the
physical or medical condition was not such to justify absence from work or any abuse of sick leave
may be cause for disciplinary action. If the employer suspects that an employee is abusing sick
leave, the employer may require validity of the sickness by either a doctor's certification, or
verification from a public health nurse, at the employee's option. The Sheriff or his designee may
require ‘an employee who has been on sick leave, prior to, and as a condition of his return to
employment, to be examined by a County designated physician and/or mental health professional, at
the County's expense, to determine that the employee is able to perform his normal duties or what
restrictions, if any, may have been placed on him by the doctor and/or mental health professional;
and that his return to work will not jeopardize his own health and safety or the health and safety of
other employees. The designated physician and/or mental health professional will be provided by
the Sheriff's Department with a description of the duties of the employee.

Section 3. Extended sick leave may only be used after regular sick leave accruals have been
exhausted, during a long-term illness. Medical documentation of the need for extended sick leave
shall be required. Extended sick leave shall be granted to a permanent employee at one-half (72)
their normal salary at the rate of one (1) month for each completed two (2) years of service up to a
maximum of six (6) months.

Section 4. When an employee finds it necessary to absent himself for reason of personal illness or
bodily injury or for attendance upon members of the immediate family whose illness requires the
care of said employee, he shall notify his supervisor two (2) hours before the start of his/her work
shift.

Office staff in the Civil Office shall notify his/her Supervisor within one (1) hour before or one (1)
hour after the time he/she is expected to report for work.

Section 5. No sick leave or pay shall be made to any employee until after completion of a six (6)
month probationary period. However, such accumulation of sick leave or pay shall be retroactive to
the date of original appointment and shall be credited to the employee on the first (1st) day of the
seventh (7th) month of employment. However, in the event an employee is absent because of
illness or bodily injury incurred in his regular employment, sick leave with pay will commence on
the first (1st) day of such illness or bodily injury.

In the case of part-time Correction Officers who are appointed to a full-time position, the six-month
probation period is waived if he/she has worked more than 1,240 hours as a part-time Correction
Officer. Part-time Officers who have not worked a total of 1,240 hours and are hired full-time shall
have the amount of hours worked credited toward the probationary period.

Section 6. While on sick leave with pay, employees will continue to accrue sick leave at their
regular prescribed rate during such absence. However, such accrual shall not be available to

employee until said employee returns from such sick leave:

- Section 7. Sick leave credits will not accrue during leaves of absence without pay, or periods of
suspension.
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Section 8. A record of such sick leave shall be filed with the County Personnel Office.

Section 9. Effective January 1, 2009, if employees have achieved a graduated scale of forty (40)
hours accrued of sick leave the first year of eligibility, eighty (80) hours accrued in the second year,
one hundred twenty (120) hours accrued in the third year, one hundred sixty (160) in the fourth
year, and two hundred (200) hours in the fifth year of eligibility and maintain the two hundred (200)
hours of accrued sick leave for all remaining years of employment. The payment schedule follows:

$500 lump sum payment - no sick leave used during the period from December 15 of the
previous year through June 15 of the current year and/or of June 16 of the current year through
December 14™ of the current year.

$250 lump sum payment - maximum of one day or total of 8 hours sick leave used during the
period from December 15 of the previous year through June 15 of the current year and/or of
June 16 of the current year through December 14™ of the current year.

$125 lump sum payment - maximum of two days or‘total of 16 hours sick leave used during
the period from December 15 of the previous year through June 15 of the current year and/or
of June 16 of the current year through December 14™ of the current year.

No payment - use of sick leave in excess of two days or total of 16 hours during the period
from December 15 of the previous year through June 15 of the current year and/or of June 16
of the current year through December 14® of the current year.

An employee must work one (1) year in order to receive this lump payment.

Section 10. Drug Testing

The Sheriff or his designee may require drug testing on any employee based on reasonable

suspicion of drug use. A fair and reasonable due process procedure, as described in the correctional
facility's policies and procedures, is to be used in conjunction with this reasonable suspicion.

ARTICLE X: PERSONAL LEAVE

Section 1. All permanent forty (40) hour/week employees shall be granted personal leave at the rate
of three (3) days or twenty-four (24) hours per calendar year. All permanent thirty-five (35)
hour/week employees shall be granted personal leave at the rate of twenty-four (24) hours in
advance.

The Sheriff or his designee may limit the number of employees granted personal leave to one
employee per division (jail, civil, and kitchen) per shift. However, additional requests for such
leave will not be unreasonably denied. Personal leave may be used in hourly units. A record of
such personal leave shall be filed with the County Personnel Office.

Personal leave shall be vgranted based on seniority. No personal leave may be taken on a holiday.
Personal leave may accrue to a maximum of 48 hours.
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When a civil deputy has been granted vacation leave, the remaining civil deputy(s) shall be
required to give 24 hours notice to the sheriff or his designee in order for personal leave to be
considered under this section.

Section 2. All employees in the bargaining unit who enter County service after January 1 of the
calendar year shall be credited with personal leave at the rate of two (2) hours for each calendar
month worked during the first calendar year of employment.

Section 3. Bereavement Leave of three (3) days shall be granted to all employees for the death of
each relative as follows: Husband, Wife, Son, Daughter, Father, Mother, Brother, Sister,
Grandparents, Grandchildren, Step-children, and Domestic Partner as defined in Article IX,
Section 1. (a). The above terms include natural, in-law, and step relationship.

Section 4. In an emergency, notification to immediate supervisor will suffice.

ARTICLE XI: LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Section 1. A leave of absence without pay, not to exceed on (1) year may be granted to a full time
permanent employee by the Sheriff.

Section 2. Any full-time, permanent employee who becomes pregnant shall be granted up to six (6)
months leave of absence without pay. Vacations, holidays and sick leave and other fringe benefits
shall not accumulate during such maternity leave. However, the employee, upon her return to work
shall retain any benefits accrued up to the date of commencement of the maternity leave.

Section 3. During an approved leave of absence without pay and subject to and consistent with
the St. Lawrence County Employees Group Health Insurance Plan, coverage may be continued,
provided direct payment of the total premium is made to the County Treasurer as prescribed by
the Personnel Department. Failure to.make timely payments will result in cancellation of
coverage.

ARTICLE XII:: WORKERS' COMPENSATION

An employee who is injured on the job is entitled to Worker's Compensation benefits as
provided by New York State Law. He may, however, accept the medical care provided by
Workers" Compensation and elect to receive full pay for such time off as he has sick leave
credits. . In the event that the employee elects sick leave rather than Workers' Compensation
benefits, the County shall request reimbursement for the sick leave so used, as provided by the
New York State Workers' Compensation Law. Leave credits, equal to the money value.
(computed to the nearest half day) of the above credit, which is paid directly to the County, shall
be restored to the employee's credit.
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ARTICLE XIII: HEALTH INSURANCE AND OTHER INSURANCE

Section 1. The County will provide eligible employees and their dependents with health insurance
coverage equivalent or better than the New York Statewide Plan in effect October 1, 1980. It shall
be the sole and exclusive right of the County to determine the insurance carrier. In addition, a Term
~ Life Insurance policy will be provided to eligible County employees.

Section 2. Effective January 1, 2002, the County will implement a new Preferred Provider Plan.
The County will also assume 70% of the premium charge for the employee’s eligible
dependents’ health insurance coverage. Also, all employees shall pay an additional $3 per pay
period as a contribution toward such health insurance coverage.

Effective July 5, 2014, the County will assume 90% of the premlum charge for the eligible
employee’s health insurance coverage. Also, all employees shall pay an additional $3 per pay
perlod as a contribution toward such health insurance coverage.

The County will provide a Managed Three Tiered Formulary Plan for Prescriptions.

Effective July 5, 2014, the prescription co-pays will be as follows:

Generic Formulary Non-Formulary
Retail $10.00 $20.00 » $35.00
Mail Order $10.00 $35.00 | . §70.00

Effective July 5, 2014, medical co-payments shall increase from $10 00 to $17.00.
Emergency Room co-pays shall be $100. 00

Section 3. Eligibility for membership in the County Insurance Program will commence on the first
(1st) day of employment and shall become effective on the first day of the following month. -
Enrollment is not automatic and application for mclus1on in the program must be made by the
employee through the Personnel Office. "

Section 4. The County will assume 100% of the group life insurance premium charge for eligible
employees. The cost of eligible dependents group life insurance coverage shall be borne by the
eligible employee.

Section 5.

(a) Employees returning from leaves of absence without pay, or Workers' Compensation, must
review his/her beneﬁt participation status with the Personnel Department within ten (1 O) days of
their return. :

~ (b) Employees returmng from breaks in employment must complete and sign new enrollment or
waiver cards for the benefit programs Wlthm thirty (30) days.

Section 6. The County will increase the yearly and hfetlme health insurance limits to at least the
plan limits in place as of December 31, 2007.. '
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Section 7. Council 82 agrees to join the prescription management plan currently implemented by
the County for the purpose of cost containment. Benefits under the current plan are not 1mpacted by
this prescription management plan.

Section 8. Council 82 agrees to join the Flexible Benefit Plan (IRS Section 125) currently offered
by the County. Health insurance premiums shall be a mandatory part of the plan for all employees.

Section 9. All employees covered by this contract shall be provided with a dental plan in the form
of a benefit better than the former GHI Plan. The County will pay $6.76 per month toward the
premium for individual employee coverage and the employee shall pay any remaining cost for
individual coverage. The employee shall pay the full cost of family coverage, should that be
chosen. :

ARTICLE X1V: RETIREMENT

Section 1. Any employee of the St. Lawrence County Sheriffs Department appointed to a
permanent, full-time position in the Classified Civil Service must join the New York State
Employees Retirement System as a condition of employment. Membershlp for all other employees
is optional.

Section 2. Eligibility for ‘membership in the Retirement program shall commence on the first (1st)
day of employment. This benefit is not automatic. Application must be made through the St.

Lawrence County Personnel Office..

The County agrees to provide the New York State Retirement Plan currently in effect with the
following options, where applicable: Section 41-J.

Section 3.

(a) The County agrees to pay $3,000 to any employee who retires after 25 years of service but
before 26 years 6 months of service.

(b) Any employee who agrees to retire between July 5, 2014 and December 31, 2014 shall
receive a $5,000 payment upon retirement.

Section 4.

(a) Any employee may use the cash value of any unused sick time to pay up to a maximum of two
years of health insurance premiums. '

(b) Effective for any employee who retires after the signing of this contract, any employee with

1,250 or more hours of unused sick time may use the cash value to pay up to a maximum of ten
years of health insurance premiums. ~
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ARTICLE XV: SENIORITY

Section 1.

(a) Seniority, for contractual purposes, shall commence with the date of first full time hire by the
Sheriff’s Department in this bargaining unit. Time in title will not be retroactive.

(b) For Cooks and Head Cooks, the County agrees to establish a seniority preference list
regarding lay off and recalls to work based upon the individual employee and his/her job
classification.

Section 2. Before an employee is dismissed for reason of cut-back, job abolishment or any other
form of attrition, he will be given preference for placement in existing jobs for which he is qualified.
Said abolishment and job placement will be done in accordance with law and other sections of this
agreement.

Section 3.

(@) Seniority for the purposes of time off, shift bidding and distribution of overtime shall be time in
title in the St. Lawrence County Sheriff's Department. Time served as provisional, temporary, or
probationary shall count for time in title upon ratification without retroactivity.

(b) Where there are two or more employees with same time in title, the tie shall be broken by time
division, i.e., correction and civil, time in St. Lawrence County Sheriff's Department and Civil
Service test score. Tie results from identical test score shall be broken by a coin toss.

Section 4. Seniority for layoff and recall shall be defined by Civil Service law and shall be

done in accordance with the Manual on Layoff Procedure issued by the New York State.
Department of Civil Service. ' ' '

ARTICLE XVI: UNIFORMS

Section 1. The employer shall provide uniforms and equipment, as itemized herein, to all
employees of the Sheriff's Department who are required to wear uniforms. The local union will be
consulted concerning any proposed changes in uniforms and equipment. :

Section 2. The Sheriff shall prescribe the uniforms to be worn by employees on duty. All items
shall be consistent with standards established by the Sheriff. Uniforms and equipment provided by
the Sheriff shall be used by employees while performing their official duties in the service of the
Sheriff's Department.

Section 3. The employer agrees to furnish each employee required to ‘wear a uniform within the
Correctional Division the following within thirty (30) days of their employment:
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A work uniform consisting of:

3 - pairs of pants 1 - hand cuff carrier
3 - long sleeve shirts "1 - glove pouch
3 - short sleeve shirts 1 -name tag ) .
1 - winter coat 1 - set of collar insignias
1 - fleece jacket 1 - minimag flashlight
1 - set of handcuffs 1 - flashlight holder
1 - pair of shoes with cost not to 1 - baseball style cap
. exceed $80.00- replaced as 1 - sweater '
needed every year '

* The employer agrees to provide for the repair and for replacement of uniforms on an as needed basis
due to damage or normal wear and tear. The employee shall be required to turn in any damaged or
worn uniforms or property before being.issued new uniforms or property.

The employer shall pay the employees holding the following titles, the sum of $150 for washing
and maintaining their own work uniform: Correctional Officer, Correctional Sergeant, Cook,
Head Cook, Records Officer, and Civil Deputy This sum is to be paid in the last pay period in
the month of December.

Section 4. The employer agrees to furnish the Head Cooks and Cooks with five (5) aprons to be
worn over their clothing. Aprons shall be replaced on an as needed basis. The Head Cook and
Cooks shall be required to turn in any damaged or worn aprons before new ones are issued.

" The employer agrees to furnish as needed, but not more than, one (1) pair of shoes every year. The
cost will not exceed $80.00. This applies to Cooks, Clerks, Correctional Officers and C1V1l
, Deputles ,

Section 5. The Sheriff shall determine the style of uniform and the dates of changing from summer
to winter uniforms, and vice versa.

Section 6. The employer agrees to replace or repair all clothing of Civil Deputies damaged in the
line of duty. :

Section 7. When an employee terminates employment with the Sheriff's Department, he shall return
his uniform and equipment issuance prior to receipt of his final pay check. :

Section 8. The County agrees to reimburse any new employee for the cost of the Criminal History
Check and Fingerprinting. -

ARTICLE XVII: MILEAGE & TRAVEL REIMBURSEMENT

Section 1. Any employee who is required to use their personal Vehlcle in the performance of
official business shall be reimbursed at the current IRS rate. ’

Section 2. If an employee is required to travel in excess of 400 miles in a day, it shall be considered
an “overnight.” Expenses incurred for meals and lodging are payable upon presentation of receipts.
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ARTICLE XVIII: HAZARDOUS DUTY BENEFIT

A Hazardous Duty Benefit (HDB) shall go into effect on the anniversary date of an
employee’s 3rd, 5th, 10th, 15th, and 20th year of service. Each step is worth fifty cents ($.50),
sixty-five cents ($.65), ninety cents ($.90), one dollar and five cents (§1.05), and one dollar and
forty cents ($1.40) on the employee’s hourly rate, up to 2,080 hours annually.

ARTICLE XIX: RECIPROCAL RIGHTS

Section 1. The County shall so administer its obligations under this Agreement in a manner which
shall be fair and impartial to all employees and shall not discriminate against any employees by
reason of sex, nationality, race, creed, political affiliation or union affiliation.

Section 2.

(a) The County agrees that all employees covered by this Agreement shall have the right to examine
their personnel files. One file is maintained by the St. Lawrence County Personnel Office and the
other file is maintained by the Sheriff. These files shall contain their personnel application,
evaluations, and all letters of commendation, reprimand, suspension, fines, demotions and any and
all work related actions that have taken place during his/her employment with the department. Such
review shall be in the presence of the Personnel Officer or his designee or the Sheriff or his
designee, as the case may be, during regular hours.

(b) No letter of criticism, or any other document derogatory in nature may be placed in an
employee's official personnel files as described in 2(a) without the employee first having an
opportunity to review the document. Should the employee, upon review of the document disagree
with all or part of any such letter, he shall have the right to seek removal of any part or all of the
document by filing a grievance in accordance with Article XXI, Section 7, Stages 1, 2, and 3 only of
this Agreement. If at the time of the effective date of this Agreement, there exists in an employee's
folder documents of which he has no copies, copies of such documents will be furnished to the
employee. The employee has a right to file a response, which will be attached thereto.

(c) Any bargaining unit member shall have the right to read and discuss with his supervisors any
performance evaluation before it is placed in his personnel file. If the bargaining unit member takes
exception to any or all of a performance evaluation he shall have the right to have his own letter of
response placed in his personnel file. Management performance evaluations are not subject to being
removed from the individual personnel file under the auspices of the grievance procedure. '

Section 3. No employee shall be requested to take a polygraph test for any reason whatsoever.
Section 4. The County agrees to continue to sponsor educational courses and training programs on

the same basis as previously practiced, with every case to be considered separately for tuition and
educational expense reimbursement. ’
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Section 5. The County agrees that medical/mental health examinations requested by the County
shall be paid by the County except those required under the present sick leave policy. The County
may request a medical/mental health examination at any time and shall have the right to name the
physician/mental health professional to conduct the medical/mental health examination. In addition,
an individual employee may elect to have his own physician/mental health professional perform a
medical/mental health examination which expenses shall be borne by the employee.

Section 6.

(a) The County agrees to permit Council 82 - Local 2390, AFSCME representatives to represént
any employee(s) before the appropriate body involving the employee(s) grade allocation.

(b) Any new position in the bargaining unit shall be created by the County Legislative Board, who
shall establish the classification, title and pay grade. Council 82 - Local 2390, AFSCME will be
. notified of the title and pay grade and will be furnished a job specification of the position. If
Council 82 - Local 2390, AFSCME determines that the salary grade is improper because of required
skills, education, training and experience as compared to other positions in the same salary grade,
Council 82 - Local 2390, AFSCME shall, within fifteen (15) working days, request a meeting of the
Labor-Management Committee to determine whether the position is assigned to the proper salary
grade. The position's salary grade will be placed in effect upon the creation of the position and, if as
a result of the Labor-Management Committee decision, an adjustment is necessary, the adjustment
shall be effective at the beginning of the succeeding pay period following the approval of the
County Board of Legislators.

(¢) The County shall notify the Union before any positions are eliminated from the bargaining unit.
(This does not constitute a request.)

Section 7. The County agrees that all civil service examinations will be well advertised in advance
and copies of each examination notice will be placed on bulletin boards throughout the County.
Results of said examinations will be published as soon as they are released by the County Personnel
Office. Copies of each examination notice and press release of marks will be furnished to the
President of Council 82 - Local 2390, AFSCME. :

Section 8. The County agrees that if the New York State Legislature passes any permissive
legislation favorable to public employees, Council 82 - Local 2390, AFSCME, upon their request,
shall be granted an Agreement reopener for discussion of said benefit(s).

Section 9. The County further agrees that Council 82 - Local 2390, AFSCME shall have the right to
represent its members in accordance with the Civil Service Law and the Rules for the Classified

Civil Service of St. Lawrence County. Copies of said Rules shall be furnished to the employees.
Section 10. The County agrees to maintain appropriate safety and security features.

Section 11. The Sheriff shall continue to use the evaluation system devised jointly by the Union
and the County. The Sheriff shall evaluate all departmental personnel on an annual basis. Any
individual receiving an unsatisfactory evaluation shall be re-evaluated after six months. The Sheriff
shall continue to use the evaluation system devised jointly by the Union and the County. (See
Standardized Performance Evaluation System Section "H".) ’
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-Section 12. The County and the Union agree not to interfere with the rights of employees to
become members of the Union, or refrain from becoming members of the Union. There shall be no
discrimination, interference, restraint, or coercion by the County or the Union or any County or
Union representative against any employee because of Union membership or lack thereof or
because of any employee activity permissible under the Taylor Law and this Agreement in an
official capacity on behalf of the Union.

Section 13. All references to employees in this Agreement designate both sexes, and wherever the
male gender is used it shall be construed to include male and female.

Section 14. The County agrees that in any case of transfer to another County Department, an
employee's sick, vacation and personal leave accruals shall be transferred with the employee and

such employee shall receive credit for such accruals in the department to which he is transferred.

Section 15. All references to employees in thlS agreement shall mean only employees as defined in
Article III, Section 1.

Section 16. The Employer shall accord the Union three (3) separate deductions on its payroll for
payroll deductions authorized in writing by the employee.

ARTICLE XX: DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURE

Section 1. Exclusive Procedure:

Discipline shall be imposed upon employees otherwise subject to the provisions of Sections
75 and 76 of the Civil Service Law only pursuant to this Article, and the procedure and remedies
herein provided shall apply in lieu of the procedure and remedies prescribed by such sections of the
Civil Service Law which shall not apply to employees.

Section 2. Disciplinary Procedure:

(a) Discipline shall be imposed only for just cause. Where the appointing authority or his designee
seeks the imposition of a loss of leave credits or other privilege, written reprimand, fine, suspension
without pay, reduction in grade, or dismissal from service, notice of such discipline shall be made in
writing and served, in person or by registered or certified mail, upon the employee. The conduct for
which discipline is being imposed and the penalty proposed shall be specified in the notice. The
notice served on the employee shall contain a detailed description of the alleged. acts and conduct
including reference to dates, times and places. The employee shall be provided with two copies of
the notice which shall include the statement: "You are provided two copies in order that one may be
given to your representative."

(b) The Union Premdent shall be notified in wntlng of any discipline within 24 hours of the

discipline. This notice shall not contain the employee s name. It shall contain the charges and the
discipline enacted.
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(c) The penalty proposed may not be implemented until the employee (1) fails to file a disciplinary
grievance within 10 days (days as used in this Article shall mean work days) of service of the notice
of discipline, or (2) having filed a grievance, fails to file a timely appeal to disciplinary arbitration,
or (3) having appealed to disciplinary arbitration, until and to the extent that it is upheld by the
disciplinary arbitrator, or (4) until the matter is settled.

(d) The notice of discipline may be the subject of disciplinary grievance which shall be served upon
the Sheriff or his designee in person or by registered or certified mail within 10 days of the date of
the notice of discipline by the employee or the Union. The employee or the Union shall be entitled
to a meeting to present his position to the Sheriff or his designee within 10 days of the receipt of a
disciplinary grievance, and upon consideration of such position, the Sheriff shall advise the Union
of its response in writing by registered or certified mail within 10 days of such meeting.

(e) If the disciplinary grievance is not settled or otherwise resolved, it may be appealed to
disciplinary arbitration by the employee within 10 days of the service of the Sheriff's response.

(f) The Employer and the Union shall continue the procedure for the arbitration process pursuant to
the voluntary rules of arbitration of the Public Employee Relations Board.

(2) The disciplinary arbitrator shall hold a hearing within 14 days of his qualification and shall
render a decision within 10 days of the date of the close of the hearing or within 10 days after
receipt of the transcript, if either party elects a transcript.

(h) Either party wishing a transcript at a disciplinary arbitration hearing may provide for one at its
own expense and shall provide a copy to the arbitrator and the other party. Unless mutually agreed
otherwise, transcripts must be requested prior to the first day of a disciplinary arbitration.

(i) Disciplinary arbitrators shall confine themselves to determinations of guilt or innocence and the
appropriateness of proposed penalties. Disciplinary arbitrators shall neither add to, subtract from
nor modify the provisions of this Agreement. The disciplinary arbitrator's decision with respect to
guilt or innocence, penalty, or probable cause for suspension, pursuant to Section 4 of this Article,
shall be final and binding upon the parties, and the disciplinary arbitrator may approve, disapprove
or take any other appropriate action warranted under the circumstances, including, but not limited
to, ordering reinstatement and back pay for all or part of the period of suspension. If the
disciplinary arbitrator, upon review, finds probably cause for the suspension, he may consider such
suspension in determining the penalty to be imposed.

(§) All fees and expenses of the arbitrator, if any, shall be divided equally between the Employer and
the Union or between the Employer and the employee if such employee chooses not to be
represented by the Union. Each party shall bear the costs of preparing and presenting its own case.
The estimated arbitrator's fee and expenses and estimated expenses of the arbitration may be
collected in advance of the hearing.

(k) In the event that any employee against whom disciplinary charges are brought by the Employer

elects to be represented by any party other than the Union, such employee shall be individually
responsible for all expenses which are incurred in connection with such disciplinary proceeding.
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Section 3. Settlements

A disciplinary grievance may be settled at any time following the service of a notice of
discipline. The terms of the settlement shall be reduced to writing. An employee offered such a
settlement shall be offered a reasonable opportunity to have his attorney or a Union representative
present before he is required to execute it. The Union President or his designee at the appropriate
level shall be provided with a copy of any settlement within 24 hours of its execution.

Section 4. Suspension before Notice of Discipline

(a) Prior to issuing a notice of discipline or the exhaustion of the disciplinary grievance procedure
provided for in this Article, an employee may be suspended without pay by his appointing authority
only pursuant to paragraphs (1) or (2) below.

(1) The appointing authority or his designee may suspend without pay an employee when the
appointing authority or his designee determines that there is probably cause that such
employee's continued presence on the job represents a potential danger to persons or property or
would severely interfere with its operations. Such determination shall be reviewable and shall
be served no later than seven days following any such suspension.

(2) The appointing authority or his designee may suspend without pay an employee charged
with the commission of a crime. Such employee shall notify his appointing authority in writing
of the disposition of any criminal charge including a certified copy of such disposition within
seven days thereof. Within 30 days following such suspension under this provision, or within
seven days from receipt by the appointing authority of notice of disposition of the charge from
“the employee, whichever occurs first, a notice of discipline shall be served on such employee or
he shall be reinstated with back pay. Nothing in this paragraph shall limit the right of the
appointing authority or his designee to take disciplinary action during the pendency of criminal
proceedings. '

(3) When an employee has been suspended without pay, the department meeting may be waived
by the employee or by the Union, with the consent of the employee at the time of filing of the
disciplinary grievance. In the event of such waiver, the employee or the Union shall file the
grievance form within the prescribed time limits for filing a grievance directly with PERB. The
case shall be given priority in assignment.

(4) An employee who is charged with the commission of a crime, suspended without pay and
subsequently not found guilty and against whom no disciplinary action is taken for the incident
in question, shall be reinstated with full back pay.

(b) A registered or certified letter notifying the President of the Union of any suspension under
paragraph (a) above shall be sent within one day, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and holidays.
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Section 5. Union Representation

An employee shall be entitled to be represented at a disciplinary grievance meeting. Such
representatives shall not suffer any loss of earnings or be required to charge leave credits as a result
of processing or investigating disciplinary grievances during such employees' scheduled working
hours. Reasonable and necessary time spent in processing and investigating grievances, including
travel time, during such employees' scheduled working hours shall be considered as time worked
provided, however, that when such activities extend beyond such employees' scheduled working
hours, such time shall not be considered as time worked.

Section 6. Limitation

An employee shall not be disciplined for acts, except those which would constitute a crime,
which occurred more than twelve (12) months prior to the service of the notice of discipline. The
employee's whole record of employment, however, may be considered with respect to the
appropriateness of the penalty to be imposed, if any.

Section 7. Other Actions -

Shift, job transfer or other reassignments to another work station shall not be made for the
purpose of imposing discipline provided; however, that nothing in this paragraph shall bar any
action otherwise taken pursuant to this Article.

ARTICLE XXI: GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE

Section 1. Declaration of Policy

The purpose of the Grievance Procedure is to provide an orderly process whereby
employees of the County may equitably and expeditiously settle any difference or grievances that
may arise in the course of their employment, free from coercion, restraint, interference,
discrimination or reprisal. The provisions contained herein shall be liberally construed for the
accomplishment of these objectives.

Section 2. No provision in this agreement shall be interpreted to fequire the union to process a
grievance of an employee at any stage of the grievance procedure if the union considers the

grievance to be without merit.

Section 3. Definitions

(a) "Decision" means the employer's explanation of the subject matter of a complaint.

(b) "Union" means the St. Lawrence County Deputy Sheriffs' Local #2390, and/or Council 82 -
Local 2390 AFSCME, AFL-CIO.

(¢) "Board" means the St. Lawrence County Board of Legislators. |

d) "Complaint" means the written allegations constituting a grievance.
p gr
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(e) "Day" means 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM, Monday through Friday, excluding contract Holidays.

(f) "Employee" shall mean any person or persons employed by St. Lawrence County Sheriff's
Department as covered by this agreement.

(g) "Grievance" shall mean any disputed matter pertaining to conditions of employment, including
" the meaning, application and interpretation of this agreement.

(h) "Immediate Superior” shall mean the officer of the next higher level of authority who normally
supervises the employees' work and approves his or her time record or evaluates his or her work

performance.

Section 4. Time Limits

(a) The time limits set forth in this Article are of the essence. They may, however, be extended by
mutual agreement of the parties.

(b) Any step of the grievance procedure may be by-passed by mutual agreement, in writing.

(c) In the case of a class action grievance, the grievance may be submitted directly to the Sheriff or
his designee.

(d) A grievance must be originally presented within ten (10) work days of its occurrence or the date
on which the employee could reasonably have been expected to have known of the occurrence.

(e) Failure to comply with the time limits established for any stage of the procedure shall be deemed
a withdrawal of the grievance, if on the part of the employee; should the employer or its
representative fail to timely respond at any step of the procedure, the employee shall then entitled to
appeal to the next step or directly to arbitration, as the case may be.

* Section 5. Union Stewards and Representatives

Employees designated by the Union to act as representatives shall be known as stewards,
and only one (1) shall have the right to investigate and process grievances during their scheduled
working hours without loss of pay or accruals. Employees seeking released time for this purpose
shall request permission from their supervisor, which shall not be unreasonably denied. Tt is
understood that not more than one (1) steward will be granted release time at a time in the provision
of this section. The Union shall provide a current list of names and work locations of all employees
designated as stewards. The County is not obligated to recognize as a steward any person whose
name does not appear on the current list. The President or his designee, grievant, and necessary
witnesses shall suffer no loss of pay or accruals for time spent in any grievance or arbitration
hearings, including travel time.
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Section 6. Grievance Procedure

Stage 1. The Union steward or other authorized representative of the Union, with or without the
aggrieved employee, shall present the grievance orally to the immediate superior. The immediate
superior may then make such investigation as he deems appropriates, including consultation with
this superior. A decision shall be rendered to the grievant and his representative within five (5)
work days after the presentation to him at this stage. If the immediate superior does not respond, the
Union shall proceed to the next stage. '

Stage 2. If the matter is not settled at Stage 1, the grievance may be submitted within ten (10) work
days of the date such decision is received by the local Union: President or his authorized
representative to the Sheriff or his designee. The Sheriff or his designee shall refer the grievance to
the Grievance Resolution Committee consisting of two (2) representatives from Management and
two (2) representatives from the Union. This Committee shall meet and review the grievance. If a
mutually agreed solution is found, it becomes the Committee's non-binding recommendation to the
Sheriff. This meeting and recommendation to the Sheriff must be forwarded to the Sheriff no later -
than ten (10) work days that the grievance was received by the Sheriff. A meeting shall be held
between the Sheriff or his designee and the Union President or his designee not later than fifteen
(15) work days after the date the grievance is submitted at this stage. The Sheriff or his designee
shall transmit to the Union President or his designee in writing the decision on any grievance matter
within ten (10) work days after the date such meeting is held. :

Stage 3. If the matter is not settled at Stage 2, the grievance may be submitted within ten (10) work
days of the date such decision is received, by the Union President or his designee to the Chairman of
the Board of Legislators or his designee. A meeting shall be held between the Chairman of the
Board of Legislators or his designee and the Union's President or his designee not later than ten (10)
work days after submitting the grievance at this stage. The Chairman of the Board of Legislators or
his designee shall transmit to the Union, in writing, his decision on any grievance matter within ten
(10) work days of the date that such meeting is held.

Stage 4. If the grievance remains unsettled the employee and/or union may submit the grievance to
binding arbitration by written notice to the Chairman of the Board of Legislators within fifteen (15)
days of the decision at Stage 3. ‘Within five (5) days after such written notice of submission to
arbitration, the aggrieved party shall request a list of arbitrators from the Public Employee Relations
Board. The parties will then be bound by the Rules and Procedures of the Public Employee
Relations Board in the selection of an arbitrator.

A Stage 5. Arbitration Procedure

(a) In the event that the Union desires to submit an unresolved grievance to arbitration, a notice of
the demand for arbitration together with a copy of the grievance shall be sent by registered or
certified mail to the Sheriff, the County, and the Public Employee Relations Board, which shall
select the arbitrator according to its rules of procedure.

(b) Arbitrators shall be requested to render their decrsrons on any matter subrmtted to arbitration

within thirty (30) calendar days of the date that the arbitration hearing was held, or within thirty (30)
calendar days of the submission date of any written briefs, should such be required. The rules of
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procedure of the Public Employee Relations Board shall be used in the conducting of all arbitration
hearings.

(c) No arbitrator functioning under this step shall have the power to amend, modify or delete any
provision of this Agreement. The decision of the arbitrator shall be final and binding on both
parties. :

(d) The parties shall share equally the cost of the arbitration, exclusive of the cost of

presentation, which shall be borne by the respective parties.

ARTICLE XXII: SAVINGS CLAUSE

Section 1. The employer retains all its nghts a;nd privileges not specifically limited by this
agreement.

Section 2. This agreement shall constitute the full and complete understanding between the County
and the Union and may be altered, changed, added to, deleted from or modified only through
mutual, voluntary consent of the parties in a written and signed amendment to this agreement.

Section 3. If any section or article of this agreement is found to be illegal, by a court of competent
jurisdiction, only that section will be affected. All other provisions of this agreement will remain in
effect.

Section 4. This agreement shall remain in effect until 11:59 PM on December 31, 2017. Either
party hereto may, on or after July 1, 2017, serve notice, in writing, upon the other party of its desire

to amend, modify or terminate this agreement effective January 1, 2018. In such event, the parties

and/or representatives shall commence negotiations immediately on such proposed amendments or
modifications for a succeeding agreement.

Section 5. If the County and the Union have not reached a new agreement by January 1, 2018, the
County and Union agree to work under the terms of this agreement until such time as a new
agreement is signed.
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May 5, 2014
RESOLUTION NO. 136-2014

AUTHORIZING THE CHAIR TO SIGN A CONTRACT WITH
COUNCIL 82, LOCAL 2390 FOR 2012-2017

By Mr. Lightfoot, District 3; Mr. MacKinnon, District 4;
Mr. Peck, District 5; and Mr. Putman, District 9

WHEREAS, the contract between St. Lawrence County and Council 82, Local 2390
expired on December 31, 2011, and

WHEREAS, the contract negotiations are completed between St. Lawrence County and
Council 82, Local 2390, and

WHEREAS, as the result of contract negotiations, St. Lawrence County believes that it
is in the best interest of both parties to successfully conclude the process with a five-year
contract (2012-2017),

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Legislators authorizes the
Chair to sign a contract with Council 82-Local 2390 for 2012-2017, upon the advice and
approval of the St. Lawrence County Negotiating Team with formal ratification by the
membership of Council 82-Local 2390.

STATE OF NEW YORK )
) ss:
COUNTY OF ST. LAWRENCE )

1, Kelly S. Pearson, Deputy Clerk of the St. Lawrence County Board of Legislators, DO HEREBY CERTIFY, that I have compared this
Resolution No. 136-2014-entitled “Authorizing the Chair to Sign a Contract with Council 82, Local 2390 for 2012-2017”, Adopted May 5, 2014,
with the original record in this office and that the same is a correct transcript thereof and of the whole of said original record.

KeLLg S, Pearson

Kelly S. Pearson, Deputy Clerk
St. Lawrence County Board of Legislators
May 6,2014
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ARTICLE XXIII: LEGISLATIVE APPROVAL

IT IS AGREED BY AND BETWEEN THE PARTIES THAT PROVISION OF THIS
AGREEMENT REQUIRING LEGISLATIVE ACTION TO PERMIT ITS IMPLEMENTATION
BY AMENDMENT OF LAW OR BY PROVIDING THE ADDITIONAL FUNDS THEREFORE
SHALL NOT BECOME EFFECTIVE UNTIL THE APPROPRIATE LEGISLATIVE BODY
HAS GIVEN APPROVAL.

+n
In witness whereof, the parties have hereunto set their hands and seal this aH day of
JUNE 2014

ST. LAWRENCE COUNTY COUNCIL 82, AFSCME, LOCAL 2390

DO*V«‘J'}\M 9) :‘?&N/\

J onz@:n S. Putney, Chair

St. Lawrence County Board of Legislators Council 82, AF SCME, Local 23 90
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SIGNATURES OF BARGAINING TEAMS

%/,; e

Christopher S. Boulio
St. Lawrence County

Gregory Carey
Council 82, AFSCME, Local 2390

Chief Spokesperson - Chief S ( SI?‘;?)/

Karen M. St. Hilaire o~ Travis L. Cole
-St. Lawrence County "~ Council 82, AFSCME, Local 2390
Adparmigtrator President

/4
Joseph R. Lightfoot JC?Oﬁ P. Rafferty
St. Lawrence County ouncil 82, AFSCME, Y,ocal 2390
Board of Legislators Vice President

~" Alex A. MacKinton
" St. Lawrence County

Boarg of Legislators
el (1)

Donald A. Peck
St. Lawrence County

Stephgh M. Putman
St. Lawrence County

Board of Legislators ;

Kevin M. Wells
St. Lawrence County
Sheriff

Peg,;éy aﬁer

St. Lawrence County
Assistant Jail Administrator
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APPENDIX A
SALARY SCHEDULE
Employees move up one (1) step on January 1 of each year.
Employees will be paid eighty (80) hours of hazardous duty pay per payroll period.

Anniversary date is the date of hire for full-time employment in the St. Lawrence County Sheriff's
Department.

- Any employee who receives a promotion during the life of the contract shall go to the next closest
higher pay on the salary schedule.
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; APPENDIX A
i ;
M r and Civil Enforcement Officer Salary Schedule : :

Base  Step1 ! : _ Step5 _ Step6  Step7 - Step8 | Step9 Step10
2014-15| $41,175' $42,431 $44462 $48,081 $48,704 $49,180 $50,906: $51,619: $52,393 $53,179' $53,977
| $1980; $20.40 $21.38 $23.12° $23.42: $23.64 $24.47 $2482 $2519  $2557  $25.95
2016| $41,793: $43,067 $45,129§ $48,802: $49,435: $49,918: $51,670: $52,393 $53,179‘§ $53,977. $54,786
$20.09.é $20.71 $21.70 $23.46:  $23.77 $24.00 $24.84. $25.19: $25.57 $25.95 $26.34
2017 $46,032 $49.778 $50,423 $50.916 $52,703 $53.441 954,242 $55056 $55,882
.49: . $22.13 $23.931  $24.24: $24.48 $25.34. $25.69° $26.08 $26.47 $26.87
Corrections Sergeants Salary Schedule % N gy .
. ; Step3 | Stepd Step6 = Step7 * Step8 : Step9 = Step 10
2014-15| $41,581. $50,353: $52,384 $56,444§ $57,294  $58,144 $58,994; $59,84 $60,742;: . $61,653: $62,319
| $19.99. $24.21 $2518 $27.14. $27.55 $27.95 $28.36  $28.77  $28.12 $28.55  $29.96
2016| $42,205: $51,108! $53,170 $57,291% $58,153: $59,016 $59,879? $60,742: $61,653; $62,578: $63,254

$20.29 $24.57 $25.56 $27.54: $27.96 $28.37 $28.79 $29.20: $28.55 - $28.97 $30.41
2017] $43,049: $52,130: $54,233 $58,436? $59,316 $60,196: 361 ,O76é $61 ,956% $62,886: $63,829: $64,519
$20.70. $25.06 $26.07 $28.09! $28.52 $28.94 $29.36! $29.79:  $30.23 $30.69 $31.02

2014-15 . Base  Step1 | Step2 @ Step3 = Stepd | Step5 | Step6 Step?7 | Step8 | Step9  Step10
ACCT CLK $31,082| $31,582| $32,180| $32,680 $33,170] $33,668| $34,173| $34,685! $35,206| $35,734| $36,270
RECORDS $33,179| $33,679| $34,302| $34,783| $36,505| $38,853| $39,353| $39,853] $40,353| $40,853] $41,353
Sr ACCT CLK $33,050 $33,550| $34,172| $34,652| $35,979| $36,651| $37,319| $37,952| $38,768| $39,546| $40,321
COOK $22,942| $23,792| $24,414| $25242| $26,953|  $29,183| $29,683| $30,183| $30,683] $31,183| $31,683
HEAD COOK $31,210| $31,710{ $32,332| $32,813| $34,537| $35,055| $35,581| $36,250| $36,794] $37,346| $37,906

2016 Schedule | Base . Step1  Step2 @ Step3 Step4 | Step5  Step6  Step7 | Step8 . Step9  Step 10
ACCT CLK $31,548 $32,056| $32,663| $33,170| $33,668| $34,173| $34,685| $35206| $35,734| $36,270| $36,814
RECORDS $33,677| $34,184] $34,817| $35,305| $37,053| $39,436| $39,943| $40,451| $40,958| $41,466| $41,973
Sr ACCT CLK $33,546] $34,053|. $34,685| $35,172| $36,519| $37,201| $37,879| $38,521| $39,350| $40,139 $40,926
COOK $23,286] $24,149| $24,780| $25,621| $27,357| $29,621| $30,128| $30,636| $31,143[ $31,651| $32,158
HEAD COOK $31,678] $32,186| $32,817| $33,305] $35,055| $35,581| $36,115( $36,794| $37,346{ $37,906{ $38,474

2017 Schedule Base . Step1 Step2 | Step3 : Step4 | Step5 : Step6. 3 Step 7 : Step 8 . Step9  Step10
ACCTCLK $32,179| $32,697| $33,316| $33,834] $34,341| $34,856| $35,379] $35,910| $36,448] $36,995{ $37,550
RECORDS $34,350] $34,868| $35,513| $36,011| $37,794| $40,225 | $40,742| $41,260 $41,777| $42,295| $42,813
Sr ACCT CLK $34,217| $34,734| $35,378| $35,875| $37,2491 $37,945| $38,636| $39,292| $40,137f $40,942| $41,744
COOK $23,752] $24,632| $25,276| $26,133] $27,904] $30,213| $30,731| $31,248| $31,766] $32,284| $32,801
HEAD COOK $32,312f $32,829| $33,473| $33,971| $35,756] $36,292| $36,837| $37,530| $38,093| $38,664| $39,244
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