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ARTICLE 1: PREAMBLE

The County of St. Lawrence, hereinafter referred to as the “County” and St. Lawrence County
Deputies Association, Inc. hereinafter referred to as the “Union” declare it to be their mutual policy
that, in order to promote harmonious labor relations between the County and its employees, the
principle of collective bargaining is to be employed pursuant to the New York State Public
Employee’s Fair Employment Act and that no Article or Section in this contract is to be construed
to be in any violation of New York State or Federal Laws.

ARTICLE II: RECOGNITION

Section 1. The County recognizes the Union as the sole and exclusive representative for all
employees in the unit described in Article III for the purpose of collective bargaining and

grievances, as prescribed by law.

Section 2. The County shall deduct from the wages of employees and remit to the Union regular
membership dues from those employees who have signed authorization permitting such payroll
deductions in a manner and form approved by the County and the Union. Any changes in the
amount of union dues to be deducted must be certified in writing to the County from the Union.

Section 3. The Union affirms that it does not assert the right to strike against the County, to assist or
participate in any such strike, or to impose an obligation upon its members to conduct, assist, or

participate in such a strike.

ARTICLE III: COLLECTIVE BARGAINING UNIT

Section 1.

The Bargaining unit as referred to in this Agreement shall include the following titles:
Deputy Sheriff
Detective
Deputy Sheriff — Part Time

Section 2. For Part Time Staff see Appendix B.

Section 3. The employer shall notify the Union within 10 days of the hiring of new employees
including addresses, activity, and employment status.

Section 4. The County agrees that international, council, or local representatives shall be allowed to
enter premises of the County with the approval of the Sheriff or his designee to discuss working
conditions with employees. Such requests shall be at least 24 hours in advance except in the case of
an emergency. Such representative shall not interfere with performance of assigned duties.

Section 5. The employer agrees to furnish facilities for Union meetings.



Section 6. The County agrees to provide bulletin boards for use by the Union and to permit the
Union to post notices on them.

Section 7. The County shall be responsible for the cost of printing copies of the contract for
distribution by the Union to present employees and any new employees hired.

Section 8. County agrees that Union representatives shall be allowed reasonable time to conduct
grievance investigations and proceedings and to transmit communication and other Union activities
on County premises without loss of pay or loss of leave credits. The Union agrees to submit to the
County a current list of the officers who would be engaged in such activities and agrees that such
release time shall not interfere with the activities of the department. The County is not obliged to
recognize any union representative whose name does not appear on the most current list provided to

the County.

Section 9. The Union president or his designee and 3 other employees designated by the president,
shall be granted release time without charge to leave credits or loss of pay to engage in negotiations
for a successor contract. The Union shall notify the Sheriff 7 days in advance when possible or as
soon as possible of the need of such time and the names of the employees secking the release time.

Section 10. Time Off With Pay

A. Time off with pay shall be granted by the Sheriff to appointed Association representatives to
attend official Association functions. However, not more than two (2) employees shall be
granted time off at any one time, and not more than a total of 72 work hours shall be granted

per year for Association functions.

B. Time off with pay shall be granted by the Sheriff to appointed Association members to
attend union training up to a maximum of 48 work hours per year. More days may be

granted with prior approval from the Sheriff.

Section 11. Written notification shall be presented to the Sheriff by the President of the Association
no later than two (2) weeks in advance of the date the leave is to commence. However, the Sheriff
may grant time off for official association functions with less than two weeks’ notice if said time off

does not interfere with the operations of the department.

Section 12. Labor-Management Program

A. The County and the Union agree to establish a joint Labor-Management Committee for the
purpose of providing communication, discussion and resolution of problems arising from the
interpretation and administration of said contract and other conditions or terms of employment.

B. The Labor-Management Committee shall be composed of three (3) members appointed by the
Chairman of the St. Lawrence County Legislature. The Union President will appoint two (2)

members in addition to him/herself.



C. Both the County and the Union will appoint a Chairmen and meetings will be called by mutual
agreement of these Chairmen. The Sheriff shall grant time off to appointed members without
loss of pay or charge to leave credits. It is understood that Labor Management meetings may be
attended by the Union representatives.

ARTICLE IV: RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES

The intent and purpose of this Article is to set forth the Rights and Responsibilities of the County as
well as the Rights and Responsibilities of the Union. Nothing contained herein shall deprive the
County and the Union of any protection and/or rights they have under this Agreement, the New York
State Civil Service Law or other applicable law.

A. RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE COUNTY':

Section 1. Nothing in this agreement shall be construed as delegating the authority conferred by law on
any elected official, department, office or agency head, or the Chief Executive Officer or in any way to
reduce or abridge such authority.

Section 2. Unless otherwise limited by this Agreement, the Rights and Responsibilities of the County
include, but are not limited to the following:

(@) To determine the standards of services to be offered by its offices, agencies and departments;

(b) To direct the employees of the County;

(¢) To hire, promote, transfer, assign and retain employees and to suspend, demote, discharge or
take disciplinary action against employees;

(d) To relieve employees from duties because of lack of work, or for other legitimate reasons;

(¢) To determine the methods, means and personnel by which such operations are to be conducted;

(f) To maintain the efficiency of Government Operations entrusted to them.

Section 3. Rules and Regulations

The Sheriff may promulgate appropriate rules, regulations, policies and procedures. The Union shall
receive a copy of such rules, regulations, policies and procedures thirty (30) days prior to their effective
date. The Union shall have the right to discuss such rules, regulations, policies and procedures before
they become effective. No rule, regulation, policy and procedure shall take precedence over any matter

described in this Agreement.

B. RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE UNION:

Section 1, Employees of the Sheriff’s Office shall have the right to form, join and participate in or
refrain from joining or participating in the employee organization free from interference, coercion,
restraint, discrimination or reprisal.



Section 2. The Union has the right to represent all employees of the Sheriff’s Office in the negotiating
unit on any matter concerning the terms and other conditions of employment within the limits of this
agreement. However, nothing in this agreement shall be construed as to preclude any employee,
regardless of Union membership, from bringing matters of personal concern directly to the attention of

the appropriate appointing authority.

Section 3. The Union has the right, either as a representative of any employee or as an observer, to
have at least one (1), but not more than two (2) individuals present at any grievance or appeal hearing
involving an employee who is determined to be in the negotiating unit.

Section 4. The Union will honestly and fairly represent any employee within the negotiating unit
concerning the terms of this agreement whether or not such employee is a member of said Union.

ARTICLE V: ADMINISTRATION OF THE SALARY PLAN

Section 1.

A. Effective the pay period ending January 12, 2018, a one half of a percent (0.5%)
shall be added to each step and an additional $750 will be added to step 10.

B. Effective the pay period ending January 11, 2019, one percent (1%) shall be added
to each step and an additional $750 will be added to step 10.

C. Effective the pay period ending January 10, 2020, one and a quarter percent
(1.25%) shall be added to each step and an additional $750 will be added to step 10.

D. Effective the pay period ending January 8, 2021, one and a half percent (1.5%) shall
be added to each step and an additional $750 will be added to step 10.

E. Effective the beginning of the pay period that is paid on the second pay date of each
year, employees not at step 10 shall move to the next step in accordance with
Appendix A (ex. for calendar year 2019 - effective date 12/29/18 paid on 01/18/19)

Section 2. Full-time employees assigned to the "C" shift (3 p.m. — 11 am.) and the "A" shift (11
p.m. — 7 am.), or portions thereof, shall receive a seventy-five ($.75) cent per hour differential,
for hours worked on these shifts. In no event will differentials be paid for those hours worked
which are simply extensions of the regular shift assignments, i.e., "overtime", effective upon
signing of contract.

Section 3. The County agrees to pay an employee who works out of title an additional fifty (.50)
cents per hour for each hour the employee works at a higher classification. This rate will only be
paid after a period in excess of one-half of a shift. Furthermore, out of title pay will not be paid
when the Sheriff, Undersheriff or Sergeant, and/or Detective Sergeant is on duty, except in cases
where an employee is directed to assume the duties of a higher classification when one of the
indicated officials is on duty. In those cases, the employee shall receive the payment for the

entire shift.



Section 4. Employees will be entitled to overtime compensation (at the rate set forth in Section 5
below) for all authorized "unscheduled" shift assignment work over and above their "scheduled"
shift assignment work during a bi-weekly pay period.

Excused absences shall count toward their scheduled shift assignment work.

Section 5.

A. Authorized overtime will be paid at one and one half (1}%) times the employees' annual
salary (computed by dividing annual salary by 2,080 hours). All overtime hours must be
submitted for authorization for payment within the pay period in which the hours were
worked, unless circumstances make it impossible to do so. In such cases, it shall be

submitted as soon as possible.

A memorandum of understanding was signed on August 12, 2014, for the purpose of establishing
a fair and equitable dissemination of available overtime for the mutual benefit of staff and

administration alike.

Recognizing that the past practice of canvassing overtime from the call list in the “overtime
book” is labor intensive,

And recognizing that posting overtime in a timely manner on the bulletin board has been an
effective method of soliciting coverage,

And recognizing that this method may not be the most equitable solution available:

We have therefore resolved to post overtime opportunities by individual date on the bulletin
board with a minimum of 96 hours of the impending overtime. In those circumstances in which
less that 96 hours notice exist then a traditional overtime book will be used for each event in
accordance with Section 8 of this article. The posted opportunities may cite more than on shift
per date and also may cite more that one officer per shift if conditions should necessitate such.
The next posting to occur upon the signing of this agreement will commence with the next senior
officer listed after the last documented entry in the overtime book. The successful bidder shall
be highlighted with a single line and will designate where this list ended for easy reference when
the next canvass shall occur. In each event the award shall be made and notice given to the
successful bidder as close to 48 hours in advance as possible. In the event that no member
should fill the vacancy, then the administration may “force” overtime if deemed necessary
pursuant to the contract protocol. In the event that no Sergeant is working then all Sergeants will

be canvassed prior to canvassing deputies on the list.



B. With the following exceptions, employees who work overtime may elect to take
compensatory time off at one and one half (1 1/2) times the actual hours worked.

Exceptions:
Snowmobile, Boat, and ATV Patrols

DWI Patrols

Special Traffic Details Reimbursed by Grants

Hospital Details

In-Service Training

County Fair, Field Day, Sporting Event Assignments

Backfilling for Absent Employees Utilizing Compensatory Time

Such compensatory time off will be scheduled with prior approval of the Sheriff or
designee.

C. No more than one (1) person within the Road Patrol Criminal Division, may take
compensatory time off on any given shift.

Forty eight (48) hours notice is required to utilize compensatory time. The Sheriff may
waive this limit if it does not negatively impact department operations (i.c. create
overtime). Compensatory time will be approved by Seniority, but in no case will a Junior
Officer be bumped without a forty eight (48) hour notice, prior to the shift.

D. The maximum amount of compensatory time that can be taken by an individual within a
calendar year is as follows: 90 Hours

Compensatory time earned shall be taken within the year that it is earned. Any unused
compensatory time not used by the end of the last pay period of the month of December

shall be calculated as overtime and paid to the employee.

F. Compensatory hours on the time and accrual sheets already include one and one-half (1'%)
times the number of hours actually worked.

G. Any employee covered by this agreement shall have the option to carry over up to 12 hours
of compensatory time from year to year. Hours not carried over at the end of the year shall

be paid at the employee’s current rate of pay.

H. Compensatory time cannot be used in the same pay period that it is earned/accrued.
(Employees may not utilize more than the available balance as indicated on their

most recent pay check or direct deposit notification).

Section 6. All part-time and extra help employees shall be paid on an hourly basis for the number
of hours actually worked. No advance payment shall be allowed for any hourly, part-time or extra
help employee. He/she must have actually worked the number of hours set forth for the payroll

period.



Section 7. Employees called in, or required to work while off duty shall receive pay, calculated at
their appropriate rate, for a minimum of four (4) hours except if the hours worked are immediately
before or immediately after a scheduled shift; in which case the employee shall be paid at the
appropriate rate for only the actual hours worked.

Section 8. Overtime work shall be offered to employees on the basis of seniority, Article 15.3, on a
rotating basis. The overtime work shall be offered to all officers working the preceding or
succeeding shift by classification in rotation. A roster will be kept for each shift listing all
employees by rank and seniority. This roster will be used to equalize the opportunity for overtime
to the fullest extent possible. If no sergeant is scheduled to work the shift in need of overtime
staffing, the overtime will be offered first to a sergeant and then to a deputy. If a sergeant works
overtime for part of a shift then no supervisory pay will be given in accordance with Section 3
above. If a sergeant is scheduled, deputies only will be offered the overtime. Once an officer
receives overtime, he/she will not be offered overtime again until the rest of the available employees
on the roster have been offered an opportunity for overtime. This method will be used each time
members of a shift are offered overtime. This does not preclude the departmental administration
from pre-scheduling special overtime details (at least one week in advance) that are based on an
officer’s specific qualifications, regardless of seniority status. If no officer wishes to work the
overtime, the employer shall assign the overtime work to the least senior officer by classification in
rotation. Officers will not ordinarily be required to work a second 8-hour overtime shift in the same

workweek.

ARTICLE VI: WORK DAY AND WORK WEEK

Section 1. All employees shall be scheduled a minimum of 160 hours of shift assignment work
every two (bi-weekly) pay periods, and shall work an average of 80 hours of scheduled shift

assignment work each bi-weekly pay period.

Section 2. The procedure for shift selection shall be as follows: On March 1, June 1, September 1,
and December 1 of each year, all shift assignments shall be posted. Employees shall submit
requests electronically for their shift assignment preference by the 10" of said months. Employees
shall be assigned to shifts of their preference in accordance with seniority. Awards shall be made
effective the payroll week nearest the twentieth (20™) of the month. For the purpose of this Article,
seniority shall be in accordance with Article 15.3. Where special needs are required, assignments
may be made on a temporary basis without regard to seniority. The Union shall be advised as to the
reasons and the projected time for such assignments. The reassignment for a 30-day period may be
obtained through a voluntary swap. Should no voluntary swap be obtained, management may assign
on a rotating inverse seniority basis from the shift affected by the reassignment.

Section 3. Upon successful completion of the police academy, employees will not be eligible
for shift bidding for one year. During this time, scheduling will occur at the discretion of
the Sheriff or the Undersheriff. The Sheriff or Undersheriff may allow shift bidding for

Iateral transfers prior to one year of service.



ARTICLE VII: HOLIDAYS

Section 1. All employees in the bargaining unit shall receive eighty-eight (88) hours off per year in
licu of holidays. Any employee who is required to work on Christmas shall be paid two (2) times
his or her regular hourly rate for all hours worked. Any employee who is required to work on
holidays other than Christmas is to be paid one and one-half (17%) times his/her regular rate.

Section 2. Nonc of these regulations, however, shall be construed as preventing the Board of
Legislators from granting employees such additional days off with pay if it may be duly authorized.

Section 3. Holidays to be observed are as follows:

New Year's Day Columbus Day (observed)
Presidents Day Veteran's Day

Martin Luther King Day Thanksgiving Day
Memorial Day (observed) Christmas Eve
Independence Day Christmas Day

Labor Day

Section 4. Holidays shall be designated each year by Human Resources.

ARTICLE VIII: VACATIONS

Section ].

A. Permanent forty (40) hour/week employees shall earn vacation in hours per payroll period in
accordance with the following schedule. To earn leave accruals, employees must have been in
payroll status for a full payroll period. Employees shall not accrue vacation credit during any
period of absence which is compensable under the Workers' Compensation Law or Disability

Benefits Law.

After completion of one (1) full year of service, vacation time shall be credited to employees on
the anniversary date of their employment as per the following schedule:

1 through 5 years completed service - 80 hours annual vacation

6 through 10 years completed service - 160 hours annual vacation
11 through 19 years completed service - 200 hours annual vacation
20 or more years completed service - 240 hours annual vacation

No employee can accrue more than two (2) years vacation credit.

B. Employees who leave County employment for any reason before their first anniversary lose all
vacation accruals. They may not sell them back as outlined in Article V11, Section 4,

Section 2. Request for block of 40 hours or more shall be submitted to the Sheriff or his designee
during the bidding period in which the vacation is requested for seniority to be considered and shall

be acted upon within 10 days.
9



Section 3. No vacation allowance or pay shall be made to any employee until after completion of a
six (6) month probationary period. However, the accumulation of vacation allowance and/or pay
shall be retroactive to the date of original appointment and shall be credited to the employee on the

first (1%) day of the seventh (7“1) month of employment.

Section 4. When, upon retirement, resignation or termination the employee has accumulated unused
vacation time, the employee may elect to receive the monetary value of unused accruals computed
at the employee's regular rate. In case of death, the Employer shall pay the monetary value of the
deceased's unused accruals to the employee's beneficiary(ies) as designated on the employees St.

Lawrence County Group Life Insurance card.

Upon retirement an employee may elect to receive the monetary value computed at the employee's
regularly hourly rate of that accumulated unused vacation time. At the option of the Sheriff or his
designated representative, an employee selecting to retire may be required to work up to his day of

retirement.

Section 5. Employees having requested and been approved for vacation outside the normal bidding
procedures will be available for recall at the phone number on record with the County for the first
thirty (30) minutes of the first day of vacation. Employees subject to recall under this provision
who fail to make themselves available could be subject to disciplinary action.

ARTICLE IX: SICK LEAVE

Section 1.

A. Sick leave shall be granted to an employee due to illness, bodily injury or exposure to
contagious diseases or for attendance to members of the immediate family whose illness
requires the care of said employee. Sick leave shall be granted for each relative living in the
household as follows: Husband, Wife, Son, Daughter, Father, Mother, Brother, Sister,
Grandparents or Grandchild. The above terms shall include natural, in-law, and step

relationships.

B. All employees hired on or after October 1, 1998, shall receive sick leave at a rate of two and one
half (2%) hours per payroll period. After completing five (5) years of service these employees
will receive sick leave at a rate of five (5) hours per payroll period.

C. Such earnings may be accumulated up to a maximum of two thousand (2,000) hours. No sick
leave charge can be less than one-half (%) hour. The decision to award time off in these time
increments shall rest with management in terms with the best management interests of the

Sheriff's Office.

Section 2. An employee on sick leave more than two (2) consecutive days may, at the discretion of
the Sheriff, be required to furnish proof of illness or disability for himself or for members of his
immediate family whose illness may require his attendance. Failure to provide such proof of illness
as required, or unsatisfactory evidence of illness or evidence indicating that the physical or medical
condition was not such to justify absence from work or any abuse of sick leave may be cause for
disciplinary action. If the employer suspects that an employee is abusing sick leave, the employer

10



may require validity of the sickness by either a doctor's certification or verification from a public
health nurse, at the employee's option. The Sheriff may require an employee who has been on sick
leave, prior to, and as a condition of his return to employment, to be examined by a County
designated physician and/or mental health professional, at the County's expense, to determine that
the employee is able to perform his normal duties or what restrictions, if any, may have been placed
on him by the doctor and/or mental health professional; and that his return to work will not
jeopardize his own health and safety or the health and safety of other employees. The designated
physician and/or mental health professional will be provided by the Sheriff's Office with a
description of the duties of the employee. In the event that the employee’s physician and the
County physician disagree, those two physicians shall mutually agree upon a third physician
whose decision shall be final and binding on the county and on the employee. The cost of the
third physician shall be borne by the Employer.

Section 3. Extended sick leave may only be used after regular sick leave accruals have been
exhausted, during a long-term illness. Long-term illness shall be defined as an illness that
results in time off work of at least six consecutive weeks. Extended sick leave is not
intended for minor illnesses, injuries, or disabilities. Surgeries must be in connection with
a long-term illness and must be medically necessary. Medical documentation of the need for
extended sick leave shall be required. Extended sick leave shall be granted to a permanent
employee at one-half (4) their normal salary at the rate of one (1) month for each completed two
(2) years of service up to a maximum of six (6) months. Extended sick leave pay will only be
provided for consecutively missed days connected to the extended sick leave taken for the
long-term illness. Extended sick leave pay will cease upon a return to work by the
employee with medical documentation. The extended sick leave benefit is available to
eligible employees one (1) time in their tenure with the County. Once an employee elects to
use this benefit, they shall not continue to accrue the benefit nor shall it be available for
uses not related to the original injury or ailment. Employees hired after ratification of the
2018-2021 Agreement shall not be eligible for extended sick leave.

Section 4. When an employee finds it necessary to absent himself for reason of personal illness or
bodily injury or for attendance upon members of the immediate family whose illness requires the
care of said employee, he shall notify his supervisor two (2) hours before the start of his/her work

shift.

Section 5. No sick leave or pay shall be made to any employee until after completion of a six (6)
month probationary period. However, such accumulation of sick leave or pay shall be retroactive to
the date of original appointment and shall be credited to the employee on the first (1*) day of the
seventh (7™) month of employment. However, in the event an employee is absent because of illness
or bodily injury incurred in his regular employment, sick leave with pay will commence on the first
(1%) day of such illness or bodily injury.

Section 6. While on sick leave with pay, employees will continue to accrue sick leave at their
regular prescribed rate during such absence. However, such accrual shall not be available to
employee until said employee returns from such sick leave.

Section 7. Sick leave credits will not accrue during leaves of absence without pay, or periods of
suspension.

11



Section 8. A record of such sick leave shall be filed with Human Resources.

Section 9. Drug Testing The Sheriff may require drug testing on any employee based on
reasonable suspicion of drug use. A fair and reasonable due process procedure, as described in the
Sheriff’s Office policies and procedures, is to be used in conjunction with this reasonable suspicion.

ARTICLE X: PERSONAL LEAVE

Section 1. All permanent forty (40) hour/week employees shall be granted personal leave at the rate
of twenty-four (24) hours per calendar year. The Sheriff or his designee may limit the number of
employees granted personal leave to one employee per division (road patrol and detectives) per
shift. However, additional requests for such leave will not be unreasonably denied. Personal leave
may be used in hourly units. A record of such personal leave shall be filed with the Human

Resources.

Personal leave shall be granted based on seniority. However, once granted it shall not be taken
away from one employee and granted to another on the basis of seniority or rank. Personal leave
shall not be considered unless it is in the current shift bid, and at no time shall it be considered more
than ninety (90) days in advance of the leave requested (i.e. Christmas Eve cannot be requested
prior to November 1% when bid shift is posted). No personal leave may be taken on a holiday.
Personal leave may accrue to a maximum of 48 hours. Employees may not utilize more than the
available balance as indicated on their most recent pay check or direct deposit notification.

Section 2. All employees in the bargaining unit who enter County service after January 1 of the
calendar year shall be credited with personal leave at the rate of two (2) hours for each calendar

month worked during the first calendar year of employment.

Section 3. Bereavement Leave of three (3) days shall be granted to all employees for the death of
each relative as follows: Husband, Wife, Son, Daughter, Father, Mother, Brother, Sister,
Grandparents, and-Grandchild. The above terms include natural, in-law, and step relationship.

Section 4. In an emergency, notification to immediate supervisor will suffice.

ARTICLE XI: LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Section 1. A leave of absence without pay, not to exceed one (1) year may be granted to a full time
permanent employee by the Sheriff.

Section 2. Any full time permanent employee, who becomes pregnant, shall be granted six (6)
months leave of absence without pay. Vacations, Holidays and Sick Leave and other fringe benefits
shall not accumulate during such maternity leave. However, the employee, upon her return to work
shall retain any benefits accrued up to the date of commencement of the maternity leave.

12



Section 3. During an approved leave of absence without pay and subject to and consistent with the
St. Lawrence County Employees Group Health Insurance Plan, coverage may be continued,
provided direct payment of the total premium is made to the County Treasurer as prescribed by the
Personnel Department. Failure to make timely payments will result in cancellation of coverage.

ARTICLE XII: WORKERS' COMPENSATION

An employee who is injured on the job is entitled to Workers’ Compensation benefits as provided
by New York State Law. He may, however, accept the medical care provided by Workers’
Compensation and elect to receive full pay for such time off as he has sick leave credits. In the
event that the employee elects sick leave rather than Workers’ Compensation benefits, the County
shall request reimbursement for the sick leave so used, as provided by the New York State Workers’
Compensation Law. Leave credits, equal to the money value (computed to the nearest half day) of
the above credits, which is paid directly to the County, shall be restored to the employee's credit.

Employees injured on duty or otherwise eligible for coverage under General Municipal Law
Section 207-c shall be subject to the County policy and procedures outlining GML §207-c. Both
parties recognize the need to update the current County GML § 207-c policy. Pursuant to that
recognition, the parties shall review and agree upon certain revisions, as designated by the
parties, to the County policies and procedures for administering GML §207-c through the Joint
Labor-Management Committee process with the expectation that all other policies and
procedures not so designated shall remain consistent with past performance. Notwithstanding the
aforementioned, nothing within this statement shall be used to restrict or impair the rights and
responsibilities reserved by the County in administering the current or prospective GML § 207-c

policies and procedures.

ARTICLE XIII: HEALTH AND OTHER INSURANCE

Section 1. The County will provide eligible employees and their dependents with health insurance
coverage equivalent or better than the New York Statewide Plan in effect October 1, 1980. It shall

be the sole and exclusive right of the County to determine the insurance carrier.

Section 2. Commencing in 2019, the employee shall be responsible for a percentage of the
total premium equivalent rate for the selected plan as follows:

Effective Date Pay Individual | Individual + Family
Period Ending Dependent

1/11/2019 15% 16% 18%
1/10/2020 16% 17% 18%
1/8/2021 17% 18% 19%
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The County will-provide a Preferred Provider Plan.
The prescription co-pays will be as follows:

Effective January 1, 2019, the prescription co-pays will be as follows:

Generic Formulary Non-Formulary
Retail $15.00 $30.00 $45.00
Mail Order $15.00 $45.00 $75.00

Effective January 1, 2019, employees utilizing brand name maintenance medications that
are on the SLC Meds (CanaRX) formulary ($0 copay) but go through Pro-Act will pay an
the copay plus an additional $50 copay for these drugs.

Effective, January 1, 2019, medical PCP/Specialty co-payments shall increase from be $17.00
to $20.00. In-patient Hospital and Emergency Room (non-emergent) co-pays shall be $100.
Emergency Room (emergent) co-pays shall be $50. Out of Network UCR allowance will
change from 90% to 75%. Out of Network co-insurance will change from 20% to 40%.

All enrollees and dependents shall participate in the specialty drug savings program. In doing so,
the County agrees to an appeals process in which any member of the plan that is not reimbursed for
the 20% coinsurance on specialty medicines will be reimbursed by the County so that the “out—of-
pocket” cost to the member shall not exceed the co-payment had the prescription been filled under
the traditional 3 tiered prescription plan. Said appeals mechanism shall be coordinated through the
Prescription Benefit Manager so that there is no up-front cost to the employee for these specialty

medicines when copayment assistance is not available.

If an employee is killed in the line of duty (dies as the direct and proximate result of a
personal injury sustained in the line of duty which does not include dying of natural causes
at work/on duty), the spouse of the employee shall receive fully paid medical insurance in
effect at the time for current employees until such time of death or remarriage. Other
dependents who were covered at the time of death shall continue to receive benefits until
they would have otherwise been ineligible under the employee’s policy provided to the

employee.

Section 3. Eligibility for membership in the County Insurance Program will commence on the first
(1%) day of employment and shall become effective on the first day of the following month.
Enrollment is not automatic and application for inclusion in the program must be made by the

employee through Human Resources.

Section 4. A Term Group Life Insurance policy will be provided to eligible County employees.
The County will assume 100% of the group life insurance premium charge for eligible employees.
The cost of eligible dependents group life insurance coverage shall be borne by the eligible
employee. Coverage for the individual employee shall be $20,000.
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Section 5.

A. Employees returning from leaves of absence without pay, or Workers' Compensation, must
review his/her benefit participation status with the Personnel Department within ten (10) days of

their return.

B. Employees returning from breaks in employment must complete and sign new enrollment or
waiver cards for the benefit programs within thirty (30) days.

Section 6. The Union agrees to join the prescription management plan currently implemented by the
County for the purpose of cost containment. Benefits under the current plan are not impacted by

this prescription management plan.

Section 7. The Union agrees to join the Flexible Benefit Plan (IRS Section 125) currently offered by
the County. Insurance premiums covered under IRS Section 125 (i.e. health, dental, life) shall be a

mandatory part of the plan for all employees.

Section 8. The County will pay the full premium cost for individual employee coverage in the
current or an equivalent dental/vision plan offered by the Union at the time of ratification. The
employee shall pay the full cost of family or dependent coverage should that be chosen.

ARTICLE XTV: RETIREMENT

Section 1. Any employee of the St. Lawrence County Sheriff's Office appointed to a permanent,
full-time position in the Classified Civil Service must join the New York State Employees'
Retirement System as a condition of employment. Membership for all other employees is optional.

Section 2. Eligibility for membership in the Retirement program shall commence on the first (1st)
day of employment. This benefit is not automatic. Application must be made through the St.
Lawrence County Human Resources Office.

Section 3. Upon Retirement:

A. Any employee may use the cash value of any unused sick time to pay up to a maximum of two
years of health insurance premiums.

B. Any active employee with 1,250 or more hours of unused sick time may use the cash value to
pay up to a maximum of 15 years of health insurance premiums. Effective upon ratification of
the 2018-2021 Agreement, any active employee with 1,500 or more hours of unused sick
time may use the cash value to pay up to a maximum of 20 years of health insurance

premiums.

Section4. The County shall provide a twenty-year retirement plan for eligible members as
provided for in Section 552 under Article 14-B of the retirement and social security law.
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ARTICLE XV: SENIORITY

Section 1. Seniority shall commence with the date of first hire by the Sheriff's Office. The County
agrees to a seniority preference list, regarding lay off and recalls to work based upon the individual
employee and his job classification. Recalls will be based upon seniority and qualifications within

this bargaining unit.

Section 2. Before an employee is dismissed for reason of cut-back, job abolishment or any other
form of attrition, he will be given preference for placement in existing jobs for which he is qualified.
Said abolishment will be done in accordance with law and other sections of this agreement.

Section 3.

A. Seniority for the purposes of time off, shift bidding, and the distribution of overtime shall be
time in title in the St. Lawrence County Sheriff's Office.

B. Where there are two or more employees with same time in title, the tie shall be broken by time

division, i.e., criminal, correction, and civil, time in St. Lawrence County Sheriff's Office and
Civil Service test score. Tie results from identical test score shall be broken by a coin toss.

ARTICLE XVI: UNIFORMS

Section 1. The employer shall provide uniforms and equipment, as itemized herein, to all employees
of the Sheriff's Office who are required to wear uniforms. The union will be consulted concerning

any proposed changes in uniforms and equipment.

Section 2. The Sheriff shall prescribe the uniforms to be worn by employees on duty. All items
shall be consistent with standards established by the Sheriff. Uniforms and equipment provided by
the Sheriff shall be used by employees while performing their official duties in the service of the

Sheriff's Office.

Section 3. The employer agrees to furnish each uniformed member with two (2) winter weight
uniforms and three (3) summer weight uniforms. New appointees shall receive two (2) winter
weight uniforms and three (3) summer weight uniforms within three (3) months of employment. A
uniform is to consist of one (1) shirt and one (1) pants, one (1) winter coat, one (1) rain coat, one (1)
felt Stetson-style hat, and one (1) foul weather hat. The employer agrees to furnish as needed, but
not to exceed one (1) pair of shoes per year, one (1) pair of insulated, waterproof boots (Road Patrol
only) and gloves (Road Patrol only). After receiving the initial complement of uniforms, on July 1st
of each year, every member shall receive one (1) summer weight shirt and pants and one (1) winter
weight shirt and pants. Winter coat, raincoat and hats are to be replaced as needed to maintain
appearance of uniforms. The employer agrees to provide for the repair and for replacement of
uniforms due to damage or normal wear and tear.

Section 4. The Sheriff shall determine the style of uniform and the dates of changing from summer
to winter uniforms, and vice versa.
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Section 5. The employer shall provide, maintain, and service weapons to all members required to
carry them, which shall also include accessories such as gun belt, holster, belt keeper, bullet holder,
hand-cuffs and hand cuff holder, key holder, flashlight, belt, and two (2) cuff keys.

Section 6. The employer agrees to replace or repair personal clothing and other personal property
damaged in the line of duty.

Section 7. When an employee terminates employment with the Sheriff's Office, he shall return his
uniform and equipment issuance prior to receipt of his final pay check.

Section 8. The employer shall pay the full cost of cleaning of uniforms of all employees covered by
this Agreement unless otherwise stated.

Section 9. The employer shall provide all deputies with one ASP and holder (collapsible night
stick).

Section 10. The employer shall furnish PL. CPL and V&T Manuals for each patrol car. Regular
updates shall also be provided. Replacement for lost books or updates shall be at the option of the

Sheriff or his/her designee.

Section 11. Effective January 1, 2016, the employer shall pay members in plain clothes
assignments which are in excess of thirty (30) consecutive work days, and $350 for plain clothes
maintenance. This sum is to be paid in the last audit in the month of December.

ARTICLE XVII: MILEAGE & TRAVEL REIMBURSEMENT

Section 1. Any employee who is required to use their personal vehicle in the performance of
official business shall be reimbursed at the at the current IRS rate.

Section 2. Employees who travel in excess of 500 miles in a day, or employees who are required
to stay overnight outside of St. Lawrence County on county business shall be reimbursed lodging
expenses. In addition, such employees shall be reimbursed for meals in an amount not to exceed

$50 per day inclusive of gratuity.

Section 3. If an employee is required to travel in excess of 75 miles from the Public Safety
Complex, they will be entitled to meals based on the rates listed below. Expenses incurred for
meals and lodging are payable upon presentation of receipts. Meals will be reimbursed as
follows; $8 for breakfast, $15 for lunch, and $25 for dinner and no reimbursement for in county

meals. These amounts are inclusive of any gratuity.

ARTICLE XVIII: LONGEVITY

The salary schedules in Appendix A reflect these payments as a component of base pay. Since this
adjustment to base pay replaces the longevity payment benefit, this article is effectively removed

from the contract.
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ARTICLE XIX: HAZARDOUS DUTY BENEFIT

A Hazardous Duty Benefit (HDB) shall go into effect on the anniversary date according to the
schedule below. The amount shall be applied to the employee’s hourly rate, up to 2,080 hours

annually.

3 Years of Service Fifty cents ($.50)

5 Years of Service Sixty-five cents ($.65)
10 Years of Service Ninety cents ($.90)
15 Years of Service One dollar and fifteen cents ($1.15)
20 Years of Service One dollar and forty cents ($1.40)

ARTICLE XX: RECIPROCAL RIGHTS

Section 1. The County shall so administer its obligations under this Agreement in a manner which
shall be fair and impartial to all employees and shall not discriminate against any employees by
reason of sex, nationality, race, creed, political affiliation or union affiliation.

Section 2.

A. The County agrees that all employees covered by this Agreement shall have the right to
examine their personnel files. One file is maintained by the St. Lawrence County Human
Resources and the other file is maintained by the Sheriff. This file shall contain their personnel
application, evaluations, and all letters of commendation, reprimand, suspension, fines,
demotions and any and all work related actions that have taken place during his employment
with the department. Such review shall be in the presence of the Personnel Officer or his
designee or the Sheriff or his designee, as the case may be, during regular hours.

B. No letter of criticism, or any other document derogatory in nature may be placed in an
employee's official personnel file without the employee first having an opportunity to review the
document. Should the employee, upon review of the document disagree with all or part of any
such letter, he shall have the right to seek removal of any part or all of the document by filing a
grievance in accordance with Article XXI, Section 7, Stages 1, 2, and 3 only of this Agreement.
If at the time of the effective date of this Agreement, there exists in an employee's folder
documents of which he has no copies, copies of such documents will be furnished to the
employee. The employee has a right to file a response which will be attached thereto.

C. Any bargaining unit member shall have the right to read and discuss with his supervisors any
performance evaluation before it is placed in his personnel file. If the bargaining unit member
takes exception to any or all of a performance evaluation he shall have the right to have his own
letter of response placed in his personnel file. Management performance evaluations are not
subject to being removed from the individual personnel file under the auspices of the grievance

procedure.

Section 3. No employee shall be requested to take a polygraph test, Computer Voice Stress
Analyzer (CVSA), or any other similar test.

18



Section 4. The County agrees to continue to sponsor educational courses and training programs on
the same basis as previously practiced, with every case to be considered separately for tuition and
educational expense reimbursement.

Section 5. The County agrees that medical/mental health examinations requested by the County
shall be paid by the County except those required under the present sick leave policy. The County,
may request a medical/mental health examination at any time and shall have the right to name the
physician/mental health professional to conduct the medical/mental health examination. The
employee shall receive copies of all reports and correspondence provided to the employer. In
addition, an individual employee may elect to have his own physician/mental health professional
perform a medical/mental health examination which expenses shall be borne by the employee.

Section 6.

A. The County agrees to permit the Union representatives to represent any employee(s) before the
appropriate body involving the employee(s) grade allocation.

B. Any new position in the bargaining unit shall be created by the County Legislative Board, who
shall establish the classification, title and pay grade. The Union will be notified of the title and
pay grade and will be furnished a job specification of the position. If the Union determines that
the salary grade is improper because of required skills, education, training, and experience as
compared to other positions in the same salary grade, the Union shall, within fifteen (15)
working days, request a meeting of the Labor-Management Committee to determine whether
the position is assigned to the proper salary grade. The position's salary grade will be placed in
effect upon the creation of the position and, if as a result of the Labor-Management Committee
decision, an adjustment is necessary, the adjustment shall be effective at the beginning of the
succeeding pay period following the approval of the County Board of Legislators.

Section 7. The County agrees that all civil service examinations will be well advertised in advance
and copies of each examination notice will be placed on bulletin boards throughout the County.
Results of said examinations will be published as soon as they are released by the County Human
Resources. Copies of each examination notice and press release of marks will be furnished to the

President of the Union.

Section 8. The County agrees that if the New York State Legislature passes any permissive
legislation favorable to public employees, the Union, upon their request, shall be granted an
Agreement reopener for discussion of said benefit(s).

Section 9. The County further agrees that the Union shall have the right to represent its members in
accordance with the Civil Service Law and the Rules for the Classified Civil Service of St.

Lawrence County. Copies of said Rules shall be furnished to the employees.

Section 10. The County agrees to maintain safety features concerning ammunition, prisoner cages,
and other related matters.
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Section 11. The County and the Union shall jointly devise an evaluation system by which the
Sheriff shall evaluate all departmental personnel on a semi-annual basis. Meetings between the
County and the Union for this purpose shall commence no later than three (3) months after the

signing of this agreement. (This was effective in a previous contract.)

Section 12. The County and the Union agree not to interfere with the rights of employees to
become members of the Union, or refrain from becoming members of the Union. There shall be no
discrimination, interference, restraint, or coercion by the County or the Union or any County or
Union representative against any employee because of Union membership or lack thereof or
because of any employee activity permissible under the Taylor Law and this Agreement in an

official capacity on behalf of the Union.

Section 13. All references to employees in this Agreement designate both sexes, and wherever the
male gender is used it shall be construed to include male and female.

Section 14. The County agrees that in any case of transfer to another County Department, an
employee's sick, vacation and personal leave accruals shall be transferred with the employee and
such employee shall receive credit for such accruals in the department to which he is transferred.

Section 15. All references to employees in this agreement shall mean only employees as defined in
Atrticle ITI, Section 1.

Section 16. The Employer shall accord the Union three (3) separate deductions on its payroll for
payroll deductions authorized in writing by the employee.

Section 17. The County shall provide for the defense of employees in any civil action or proceeding
in any state or federal court or administrative agency arising out of any act or omission that
occurred, or allegedly occurred, while the employee was acting, or in good faith purporting to act,
within the scope of his public employment. This duty to provide for defense shall not arise where
such civil action or proceeding is brought by or on behalf of the county. The employees shall be
entitled to be represented by private counsel when the county attorney determines or when a court
competent jurisdiction determines that a conflict of interest exists. The county attorney may require
that the same counsel represent appropriate groups of such employees. Reasonable and necessary
attorney’s fees, disbursements and expenses prevailing in the local legal community shall be
submitted promptly each month in the manner and form required by the county attorney, and shall
be paid every 30 days during the pendency of the action.

ARTICLE XXI: DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURE

Section 1. Exclusive Procedure:

Discipline shall be imposed upon employees otherwise subject to the provisions of Sections 75 and
76 of the Civil Service Law only pursuant to this Article, and the procedure and remedies herein
provided shall apply in lieu of the procedure and remedies prescribed by such sections of the Civil

Service Law which shall not apply to employees.
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Section 2. Disciplinary Procedure:

A. Discipline shall be imposed only for just cause. Where the appointing authority or his designee
seeks the imposition of a loss of leave credits or other privilege, written reprimand, fine,
suspension without pay, reduction in grade, or dismissal from service, notice of such discipline
shall be made in writing and served, in person or by registered or certified mail, upon the
employee. The conduct for which discipline is being imposed and the penalty proposed shall be
specified in the notice. The notice served on the employee shall contain a detailed description of
the alleged acts and conduct including reference to dates, times and places. The employee shall
be provided with two copies of the notice which shall include the statement: "You are provided
two copies in order that one may be given to your representative."

B. The Union President shall be notified of any discipline in writing within 24 hours of the
discipline. This notice shall not contain the employee's name. It shall contain the charges and

the discipline enacted.

C. The term “days” as used in this Article shall mean Monday through Friday, excluding
holidays included in this Agreement and any other days that the County does not conduct
normal operations. The penalty proposed may not be implemented until the employee (1)
fails to file a disciplinary grievance within 10 days of service of the notice of discipline, or
(2) having filed a grievance, fails to file a timely appeal to disciplinary arbitration, or (3)
having appealed to disciplinary arbitration, until and to the extent that it is upheld by the
disciplinary arbitrator, or (4) until the matter is settled.

D. The notice of discipline may be the subject of disciplinary grievance which shall be served upon
the Sheriff or his designee in person or by registered or certified mail within 10 days of the date
of the notice of discipline by the employee or the Union. The employee or the Union shall be
entitled to a meeting to present his position to the Sheriff or his designee within 10 days of the
receipt of a disciplinary grievance, and upon consideration of such position, the Sheriff shall
advise the Union of its response in writing by registered or certified mail within 10 days of such

meeting.

E. If the disciplinary grievance is not settled or otherwise resolved, it may be appealed to
disciplinary arbitration by the employee within 10 days of the service of the Sheriff's response.

F. An arbitrator shall be selected in accordance with the process outlined in Article XXII, Section
6, except that in the case of a disciplinary arbitration the employee shall have the right to
proceed to arbitration without the agreement of the Union. In such case, the Union shall not be
responsible for any arbitration expenses, and the Employer and employee shall share equally in
the cost of the arbitration.

G. Either party wishing a transcript at a disciplinary arbitration hearing may provide for one at its
own expense and shall provide a copy to the arbitrator and the other party. Unless mutually
agreed otherwise, transcripts must be requested prior to the first day of a disciplinary arbitration.

H. Disciplinary arbitrators shall confine themselves to determinations of guilt or innocence and the
appropriateness of proposed penalties. Disciplinary arbitrators shall neither add to, subtract
from nor modify the provisions of this Agreement. The disciplinary arbitrator's decision with
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respect to guilt or innocence, penalty, or probable cause for suspension, pursuant to Section 4 of
this Article, shall be final and binding upon the parties, and the disciplinary arbitrator may
approve, disapprove or take any other appropriate action warranted under the circumstances,
including, but not limited to, ordering reinstatement and back pay for all or part of the period of
suspension. If the disciplinary arbitrator, upon review, finds probable cause for the suspension,
he may consider such suspension in determining the penalty to be imposed.

I. All fees and expenses of the arbitrator, if any, shall be divided equally between the Employer
and the Union or between the Employer and the employee if such employee chooses not to be
represented by the Union. Each party shall bear the costs of preparing and presenting its own
case. The estimated arbitrator's fee and expenses and estimated expenses of the arbitration may

be collected in advance of the hearing.
J. In the event that any employee against whom disciplinary charges are brought by the Employer

elects to be represented by any party other than the Union, such employee shall be individually
responsible for all expenses which are incurred in connection with such disciplinary proceeding.

Section 3. Settlements:

A disciplinary grievance may be settled at any time following the service of a notice of discipline.
The terms of the settlement shall be reduced to writing. An employee offered such a settlement
shall be offered a reasonable opportunity to have his attorney or a Union representative present
before he is required to execute it. The Union President or his designee at the appropriate level shall
be provided with a copy of any settlement within 24 hours of its execution. Time limits may be

waived with mutual agreement of the parties.

Section 4. Suspension before Notice of Discipline:

A. Prior to issuing a notice of discipline or the exhaustion of the disciplinary grievance procedure
provided for in this Article, an employee may be suspended without pay by his appointing
authority only pursuant to paragraphs (1) or (2) below.

(1) The appointing authority or his designee may suspend without pay an employee when the
appointing authority or his designee determines that there is probable cause that such employee's
continued presence on the job represents a potential danger to persons or property or would
severely interfere with its operations. Such determination shall be reviewable and shall be
served no later than seven days following any such suspension.

(2) The appointing authority or his designee may suspend without pay an employee charged
with the commission of a crime. Such employee shall notify his appointing authority in writing
of the disposition of any criminal charge including a certified copy of such disposition within
seven days thereof. Within 30 days following such suspension under this provision, or within
seven days from receipt by the appointing authority of notice of disposition of the charge from
the employee, whichever occurs first, a notice of discipline shall be served on such employee or
he shall be reinstated with back pay. Nothing in this paragraph shall limit the right of the
appointing authority or his designee to take disciplinary action during the pendency of criminal

proceedings.
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(3) When an employee has been suspended without pay, the department meeting may be
waived by the employee or by the Union, with the consent of the employee at the time of filing
of the disciplinary grievance. In the event of such waiver, the employee or the Union shall file
the grievance form within the prescribed time limits for filing a grievance directly with PERB.

The case shall be given priority in assignment.

(4) An employee who is charged with the commission of a crime, suspended without pay and
subsequently not found guilty and against whom no disciplinary action is taken for the incident
in question, shall be reinstated with full back pay.

B. A registered or certified letter notifying the President of the Union of any suspension under
paragraph (a) above shall be sent within one day, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and holidays.

C. Except in the case of an employee charged with a felony, no employee shall be suspended
without pay for a period exceeding 30 days prior to the settlement of Notice & Charges.

Section 5. Union Representation:

An employee shall be entitled to be represented at a disciplinary grievance meeting. Such
representatives shall not suffer any loss of earings or be required to charge leave credits as a result
of processing or investigating disciplinary grievances during such employees' scheduled working
hours. Reasonable and necessary time spent in processing and investigating grievances, including
travel time, during such employees' scheduled working hours shall be considered as time worked
provided, however, that when such activities extend beyond such employees' scheduled working
hours, such time shall not be considered as time worked.

Section 6. Limitation:

An employee shall not be disciplined for acts, except those which would constitute a crime, which
occurred more than twelve (12) months prior to the service of the notice of discipline. The
employee's whole record of employment, however, may be considered with respect to the

appropriateness of the penalty to be imposed, if any.

Section 7. Other Actions:

Shift, job transfer or other reassignments to another work station shall not be made for the purpose
of imposing discipline provided; however, that nothing in this paragraph shall bar any action
otherwise taken pursuant to this Article.

ARTICLE XXI1I: GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE

Section 1. Declaration of Policy

The purpose of the Grievance Procedure is to provide an orderly process whereby employees of the
County may equitably and expeditiously settle any difference or grievances that may arise in the
course of their employment, free from coercion, restraint, interference, discrimination or reprisal.
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The provisions contained herein shall be liberally construed for the accomplishment of these
objectives.

Section 2. No provision in this agreement shall be interpreted to require the Union to process a
grievance of an employee at any stage of the grievance procedure if the Union considers the

grievance to be without merit.

Section 3. Definitions

A

B.

C.

H

. "Decision" means the employer's explanation of the subject matter of a complaint.
"Union" means the St. Lawrence County Deputies Association, Inc.

“Board" means the St. Lawrence County Board of Legislators.

"Complaint" means the written allegations constituting a grievance.

"Day" shall mean Monday through Friday, excluding holidays included in this Agreement
and any other days that the County does not conduct normal operations.

"Employee" shall mean any person or persons employed by St. Lawrence County Sheriff's
Office covered by this agreement.

"Grievance" shall mean any disputed matter pertaining to conditions of employment, including
the meaning, application and interpretation of this agreement.

. "Immediate Superior" shall mean the officer of the next higher level of authority who normally
supervises the employees' work and approves his or her time record or evaluates his or her work

performance.

Section 4. Time Limits

A.

The time limits set forth in this Article are of the essence. They may, however, be extended by
mutual agreement of the parties.

Any step of the grievance procedure may be by-passed by mutual agreement, in writing.

In the case of a class action grievance, the grievance may be submitted directly to the Sheriff or
his designee.

A grievance must be originally presented within ten (10) workdays of its occurrence or the date
on which the employee could reasonably have been expected to have known of the occurrence.

Failure to comply with the time limits established for any stage of the procedure shall be
deemed a withdrawal of the grievance, if on the part of the employee; should the employer or its
representative fail to timely respond at any step of the procedure, the employee shall then be
entitled to appeal to the next step or directly to arbitration, as the case may be.
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Section 5. Union Representatives

The Union President or designee shall have the right to investigate and process grievances during
their scheduled working hours without loss of pay or accruals. Employees seeking released time for
this purpose shall request permission from their supervisor, which shall not be unreasonably denied.
It is understood that not more than one (1) Representative will be granted release time at a time in
the provision of this section. The Union shall provide a current list of names and work locations of
all employees designated as stewards. The County is not obligated to recognize as a steward any
person whose name does not appear on the current list. The President or his designee, grievant, and
necessary witnesses shall suffer no loss of pay or accruals for time spent in any grievance or
arbitration hearings, including travel time.

Section 6. Grievance Procedure

Stage 1. The Union President or other authorized representative of the Union, with or without the
aggrieved employee, shall present the grievance orally to the immediate superior. The immediate
superior may then make such investigation, as he deems appropriate, including consultation with his
superior. A decision shall be rendered to the grievant and his representative within five (5)
workdays after the presentation to him at this stage. If the immediate superior does not respond, the

Union shall proceed to the next stage.

Stage 2. If the matter is not settled at Stage 1, the grievance may be submitted within ten (10) days
of the date such decision is received by the local Union President, or his authorized representative,
to the Sheriff or his designee. The Sheriff or his designee shall refer the grievance to the Grievance
Resolution Committee consisting of two (2) representatives from Management and two (2)
representatives from the Union. This Committee shall meet and review the grievance. If a mutually
agreed solution is found, it becomes the Committee's non-binding recommendation to the Sheriff.
This meeting and recommendation to the Sheriff must be forwarded to the Sheriff no later than ten
(10) days from the date the grievance was received by the Sheriff. A meeting shall be held between
the Sheriff or his designee and the Union President or his designee not later than fifteen (15) days
after the date the grievance is submitted at this stage. The Sheriff or his designee shall transmit to
the Union President or his designee in writing the decision on any grievance matter within ten (10)

days after the date such meeting is held.

Stage 3. If the matter is not settled at Stage 2, the grievance may be submitted within ten (10) days
of the date such decision is received, by the Union President or his designee to the Chairman of the
Board of Legislators or his designee. A meeting shall be held between the Chairman of the Board
of Legislators or his designee and the Union's President or his designee not later than ten (10) days
after submitting the grievance at this stage. The Chairman of the Board of Legislators or his
designee shall transmit to the Union, in writing, his decision on any grievance matter within ten (10)

days of the date that such meeting is held.

Stage 4. If the grievance remains unsettled, the union may submit the grievance to binding
arbitration by written notice to the Chairman of the Board of Legislators within fifteen (15) days of

the decision at Stage 3 to pursue the matter to Arbitration.
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Stage 5. Arbitration Procedure

A. The Union and Employer shall mutually agree upon an arbitrator. In the event that the parties
cannot agree on an arbitration, the Union shall submit a Demand for Arbitration to the Public

Employment Relations Board, whose rules shall be used to select an arbitrator.

B. Arbitrators shall be requested to render their decisions on any matter submitted to arbitration
within thirty (30) calendar days of the date that the arbitration hearing was held, or within thirty
(30) calendar days of the submission date of any written briefs, should such be required. The
rules of procedure of the Public Employee Relations Board shall be used in the conducting of

all arbitration hearings.

C. No arbitrator functioning under this step shall have the power to amend, modify or delete any
provision of this Agreement. The decision of the arbitrator shall be final and binding on both

parties.

D. The parties shall share equally the cost of the arbitration, exclusive of the cost of presentation,
which shall be borne by the respective parties.

ARTICLE XXIII: SAVINGS CLAUSE

Section 1. The employer retains all its rights and privileges not specifically limited by this
agreement.

Section 2. This agreement shall constitute the full and complete understanding between the County
and the Union and may be altered, changed, added to, deleted from or modified only through
mutual, voluntary consent of the parties in a written and signed amendment to this agreement.

Section 3. If any section or article of this agreement is found to be illegal, by a court of competent
jurisdiction, only that section will be affected. All other provisions of this agreement will remain in

effect.

Section 4. This agreement shall remain in effect until 11:59 p.m. on December 31, 2021. Either
party hereto may, on or after July 1, 2021, serve notice, in writing, upon the other party of its desire
to amend, modify or terminate this agreement effective January 1, 2022. In such event, the parties
and/or representatives shall commence negotiations immediately on such proposed amendments or

modifications for a succeeding agreement.
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ARTICLE XXIV
LEGISLATIVE APPROVAL

IT IS AGREED BY AND BETWEEN THE PARTIES THAT PROVISION OF THIS AGREEMENT
REQUIRING LEGISLATIVE ACTION TO PERMIT ITS IMPLEMENTATION BY AMENDMENT
OF LAW OR BY PROVIDING THE ADDITIONAL FUNDS THEREFORE SHALL NOT
BECOME EFFECTIVE UNTIL THE APPROPRIATE LEGISLATIVE BODY HAS GIVEN

APPROVAL.

In witness whereof, the parties have hereunto set their hands and seal this 5 < day of
ﬁﬁi—/gé&é{f_’, 2018.

ST. LAWRENCE COUNTY ST. LAWRENCE COUNTY DEPUTIES
ASSOCIATION, INC.

L. P B

’I;é}r:(AcreS, (fhaﬂ: Sean P. O’Brien, President

Lawrence County Board of Legislators St. Lawrence County Deputies
Association, Inc.
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November 5, 2018
RESOLUTION NO. 419-2018

AUTHORIZING THE CHAIR TO SIGN A CONTRACT WITH
THE ST. LAWRENCE COUNTY DEPUTIES ASSOCIATION, INC. FOR 2018-2021

By Mr. Hooper, District 1, Mr. Lightfoot, District 3,
Mr. LaPierre, District 4, Mr. Perkins, District 7, and Mr. Colbert, District 11

WHEREAS, the contract between St. Lawrence County and the St. Lawrence County
Deputies Association, Inc. expired on December 31, 2017, and

WHEREAS, the contract negotiations between St. Lawrence County and the St.
Lawrence County Deputies Association, Inc. are complete, and

WHEREAS, as a result of contract negotiations, St. Lawrence County believes it in the
best interest of both parties to recommend a three year bargaining agreement (2018-2021),

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Legislators authorizes the
Chair to sign the contract between St. Lawrence County and the St. Lawrence County Deputies
Association, Inc., upon the advice and approval of the St. Lawrence County Negotiating Team.

STATE OF NEW YORK )
) ss:

COUNTY OF ST. LAWRENCE )

I, Kelly S. Pearson, Deputy Clerk of the St. Lawrence County Board of Legislators, DO HEREBY CERTIFY that I have compared this
Resolution No. 419-2018 entitled “Authorizing the Chair to Sign a Contract with the St. Lawrence County Deputies Association, Inc. for 2018-
20217, adopted November 5, 2018, with the original record in this office and that the same is a correct transcript thereof and of the whole of said

original record.

}g:Ll‘:.J S, Pearson
Kelly S. Pearson, Deputy Clerk

St. Lawrence County Board of Legislators
November 6,2018
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SIGNATURE OF BARGAINING TEAMS

C e A 720 o7 .

AJonnie Do‘fgthy Thomas Ross 4

St. Lawrence County NYS Deputies Association Inc.

ief Spokesperson Chief Spokesperson
AR

oseph Lightfoot Sedn P. O’Brien

St. Lawrence County St. Lawrence County Deputies Association Inc.
Bpard of Legislators President

Patrick Engle Z

St. Lawrence County St. Lawrence County Deputies Association Inc.
Board of Legislators

Kevin Wells Collin Nicol

St. Lawrence County St. Lawrence County Deputies Association Inc.
Sheriff

Brooks Blgvérfe %

St. Lawrence County

St. Lawrence County
County Administrator
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APPENDIX A

Effective Pay
Period Ending

Base

Step 1

Step 2

Step 3

Step 4

Step 5

Step 6

Step 7

Step 8

Step 9

Step 10

1/12/2018

$40,935

$43,122

$44,409

$45,696

$47,495

$48,270

$49,558

$50,845

$52,132

$53,420

$57,478

1/11/2019

$41,344

$43,553

$44,853

$46,153

$47,970

$48,753

$50,054

$51,353

$52,653

$53,954

$58,803

1/10/2020

$41,861

$44,097

$45,414

$46,730

$48,570

$49,362

$50,680

$51,995

$53,311

$54,628

$60,288

1/8/2021

$42,489

$44,758

$46,095

$47,431

$49,299

$50,102

$51,440

$52,775

$54,111

$55,447

861,942
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APPENDIX B
Part-Time Deputy Memorandum of Agreement — Signed on January 31, 2017

In recognition of the fact that the Sheriff has been authorized to hire Part-Time Deputy Sheriffs,
the parties agree to the following terms. Upon approval of this Memorandum of Agreement by
all parties, it shall be attached to and made a part of the collective bargaining agreement as

“Attachment B.”

1)

2)

3)
4)

3)

6)

7)
8)

9

Effective upon approval of this agreement, the language contained in Article III, Section
2 of the collective bargaining agreement shall be deleted and replaced with the following:
Part-time deputy sheriffs shall be included in the bargaining unit and shall be subject to
the special terms specified in Appendix B of the agreement.

The number of part-time deputies shall not exceed 15% of the number of full-time
deputies with in the bargaining unit.

Part-time deputies are not entitled to the provision of the disciplinary process.

Except in case of bona fide emergency, part-time employees will not work in excess of
1040 work hours per calendar year. If a part-time employees exceeds 1040 work hours in
a calendar year, he/she will start receiving health insurance. The employee shall continue
to receive these benefits for the remainder of the calendar year and for the following
calendar year.

Except in the case of a bona fide emergency, or as outlined in section 8 below, part-time
deputies will be assigned only to the following functions: prisoner transports, hospital
security assignments; pistol permit applications; law enforcement sensitive computer
maintenance; maintenance of accreditation and training files and service of Family Court
Papers/Order of Protections.

Under no circumstances will a full-time bargaining unit members have been offered the
assignment and declined.

Part-time deputies’ schedules will be posted 30 days in advance.

Part-time deputies will not be assigned to or offered any assignments outside of those
specified in section 5 above unless all full-time bargaining unit members have been

offered the assignment and declined.
Part-time employees will be paid at an hourly rate equivalent to the base salary in effect

divided by 2080.

10) When hiring part-time deputies, preference shall be given to retirees of the bargaining

unit, unless such retiree was subject to disciplinary action at the time of his/her
retirement.

11) Part-time deputies shall be hired in accordance with the requirements of applicable laws.
12) Applicants for part-time deputies must be certified by New York State as a police officer

or Deputy Sheriff/Patrol Officer before being offered employment.

31



APPENDIX C
Twelve Hour Shifts Memorandum of Agreement Signed on December 12, 2016

In recognition of the fact that the parties desire to implement a 12-hour work schedule for some
members of the bargaining unit, the parties agree to the following terms:

1.
2.

10.

11.

12.

31

14.

S,

16.

Road patrol deputies shall be assigned to 12-hour shifts.
There shall be two groups designated as platoons. Each employee on the 12-hour
schedule shall bid by seniority, one platoon in accordance with the terms of this

Agreement.
Work shifts will be 7 AM to 7 PM and 7 PM to 7 AM. At the Sheriffs discretion,

employees may be assigned to an alternative 12 hour flex schedule.
With “1” and “2” designating the work days for each platoon, the work schedule for

employees on the 12 hour shifts shall be:

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
1 2 2 1 1 2 2
2 1 1 2 2 1 1

The regular work schedule for employees on the 12 hour schedule shall include 84 hours.
The parties agree that compensation for all 84 hours shall be at straight time pay.

Shift differential will be forfeited in accordance with the collective bargaining agreement
as long as this agreement is in place.

Leave credits will accrue as required by the collective bargaining agreement.

The use of compensatory time will be in accordance with collective bargaining
agreement.

Vacation time not bid in “vacation blocks” of 36 hours may be superseded by personal
leave or compensatory time requests when necessary to maintain adequate staffing level
on a shift.

Lieu Holiday (LH) time requests will be submitted to the Sheriff or designee. In the
event of simultaneous requests, seniority will prevail. A maximum of one deputy or
Sergeant per sift may be granted LH time. LH time may be denied in order to meet
staffing requirements, but once granted, LH time may not be canceled.

Members of this agreement shall forfeit 40 hours of LH time, and shall use the remaining

48 hours in the year accrued.
Deputies moving from an 8-hour shift to a 12 hour shift (or vice-versa) shall have LH

time prorated as needed.

LH time for new employees will be prorated based on their date of hire.

Employees separating from service shall be paid for any unused LH time that has been
earned. If an employee has used more LH time than has been accrued at the time of
separation, the excess hours shall be deducted from the employee’s vacation time.

If an employee working the night shift is required to report for jury duty, arrangements
will be made between the employee and the scheduling officer to accommodate the
employee’s sleeping needs.

Deputies on special assignments may be assigned a schedule other than the 12-hour shift

schedule.
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17.

18.

19.

20.

21.

22.

23.

At the Sheriff’s discretion, road patrol deputies may be assigned to a Monday-Friday, 8-
hour shift schedule with county holidays scheduled off.
Deputies may be required to attend up to six (6) training days of eight (8) hours or less on
their days off. Such training shall be scheduled at the time of shift bidding procedure.
Payment for this training shall be at straight time, unless otherwise required by the FLSA.
In the event of a dispute over the meaning or application of this Agreement, the parties
will attempt to reach a mutually acceptable resolution. If that cannot be accomplished,
the Association may pursue the matter as a grievance in accordance with the collective
bargaining agreement.
All terms of the collective bargaining agreement remain in full force and effect unless
specifically amended in this MOA. Terms of this MOA shall not apply to employees
working in plain clothes/investigations.
When possible, overtime opportunities will be posted at least 96 hours in advance
utilizing the current 96 hour overtime protocol. When overtime is required with fewer
than 96 hours of notice, overtime shall be offered to employees based upon seniority. The
method of posting and the method of offering by seniority shall be continued by utilizing
the “Overtime book” protocol. If no sergeant is scheduled to work, all sergeants will be
canvassed prior to offering the overtime to deputies.
Forced Overtime — If no volunteer is available (including part time employee
canvassing), the least senior road patrol on duty employee (including Deputies and
Sergeants) who was not the last employee forced in accordance to the “Force OT Book”
may be ordered to work overtime subject to the following conditions.
No employee shall be forced to work overtime that will result in the employee working
over eighteen (18) consecutive hours.
If no on duty employee can work the overtime without exceeding the 18 hour period, an
employee from the following shift may be ordered to report early using the same
selection method defined above.
Deputies ordered to maintain late or report early for a shift that would total 16 hours or
more shall be permitted to take a marked vehicle home after their shift to maximize sleep
opportunities. The employee will return the vehicle at or before his/her next shift.
All terms of the collective bargaining agreement remains in full force and effect for one
year starting January 1%, 2017. On November, 1¥ 2017, either party may opt out of this
MOA with written notice to such other party. Terms of the MOA shall not apply to
employees working an 8-hour shift. If either party fails to exercise their right to terminate
this agreement, then said agreement will continue for year to year, with any termination

being opted by November 1% of that year.
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